Barre N9NE 60-day challenge – let’s get ‘er done!

I am ready…

…to embrace change.

…to reinvent myself.

…to surrender.

Barre N9NE 60-day challenge: I will kill it.

Just got back from meeting with Tanya at Barre N9NE and wow, the thoughts are swirling through my head like crazy. I’m not really even sure where to begin, I just know I am so ready to get started.

But, as promised, I wanted to give ya’ll the details on what this 60-day challenge will look like. In a nutshell – this is how the next 60 days will pan out (with variation week-to-week depending on schedules and such):

Monday: 7:00pm Barre N9ne method and possible AM run
Tuesday: 7:00pm lean & tone and possible AM run
Wednesday: 6:30pm B9 Barre Fusion
Thursday: 5:30pm long & lean legs; 6:30pm barre fusion OR 7:30pm barre n9ne method express <—we will likely always do two workouts on Thursday, either with a break in between to have a check-in with Tanya or back to back, skipping the 7:30 session
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Run and either 11am B9 at the park (this is an outdoor version of their signature class); or 1:1 session with Tanya
Sunday: Run

So, if you’re counting along with me – that’s an average of 5-6 Barre N9NE workouts each week. Bring. It. On.

You’ll also notice something- which I fully anticipated – but there are no other weight workouts in here, nor does Kick or Ride appear on the schedule. This is by design (partially my own). My two goals are to KNOCK this 60-day challenge out of the park and to focus on my running. Which means buh-bye to anything that will interfere with that focus. And I dig that, so much.

Something else new to the regime (and this is a biggie): I will be keeping a food log.
For the first time in at least four or five years.

And that scares me a lot less than I anticipated. I now know how to avoid letting numbers mess with my head. I am stronger, mentally, so I feel prepared to re-introduce a food log into my daily routine. And honestly? I think I could use a little more accountability. I am pretty sure I have been giving in a little bit too easily on the weekends than I should lately. At least if I want to see better/bigger results, anyway.

And right now? That’s right for me. The food log, that is. I don’t think I’ll use it/need it forever. In fact, I know I won’t. But it fits with my goals for this challenge. And I’m ready to surrender to it. Even if that means finding a way to work in my beloved glass or two of wine here and there, because let’s be honest – I could never give that up for good. 😉

Ahhh! So much to think about!! And so much more to share. In due time.
For now — May 12th is our official start date (Thurs) and we end on July 12th…but somehow I doubt that will be the “end” but truly the beginning of an awesome new phase in my life. And I cannot wait.

27 thoughts on “Barre N9NE 60-day challenge – let’s get ‘er done!

  1. The food log scares me a little, but in a good way. I think I need it to get back on track weekend-wise and it will be good to really know how many calories I am eating. I feel like I am facing this head-on for once, not in denial! Yay, can’t wait sis!!

    • For some reason it’s scaring me less than I anticipated it would. I’m kind of excited to start filling it out – partly because I’m pretty confident that we eat well during the week and that having a tool to help me rein it in a bit on the weekends is just what I need to get to a happier “me” body-image wise.

  2. that workout schedule sounds hard core, im jealous! haha. i used to do the bar method and that was pretty rough. this sounds a little better though, so good for u! ive tried food logs before..im good at starting but then kinda stop after like, a week hah. youre sort of motivating me to start another one!

    • I’m really excited for the workouts – I wish it was starting sooner!!
      I am a little bit apprehensive about the food log but overall I think it’s what I need right now. I know it won’t be a forever thing though, just long enough to get certain habits of mine under better control (at least 99% of the time anyway, nobody’s perfect, right?)

  3. This is really incredible! I admire your excitement and determination to take on this challenge. It makes me think about what I could do as a personal fitness challenge. Right now, it’s 4 yoga classes/week…I think I could step it up! 😉

    As for the food log, it sounds like you have a great outlook on it, and I hope you benefit from it!

    • Thank you, Dorry! I’m hopeful that by keeping a positive and balanced outlook on the food log, that it’ll help me to stay away from getting too caught up in the numbers again like I used to get. Overall, I’m just really anxious to get this thing going!

  4. I’m really glad to read that you’ve dropped kick and ride from your schedule — I think concentrating on N9NE and running alone is PLENTY enough to be be getting on with looking at this schedule!

    I will also be really interested to read about your experiences with the food log. It is something I have dithered backwards and forwards over this last year, not just wondering whether I have the head for it, but also whether I really want to put that level of commitment into my figure. I’ve always come up with a no, but I think some kind of accountability (even if not with strict numbers) is necessary if you’re going to go that final distance. I hope you get the results you’re looking for 🙂

    • I knew you’d appreciate that I’m taking a focused approach here – taking Kick and Ride out of the equation. I think it’ll prevent me from going into overtraining mode and it’ll help me to regain my running mojo for good (something I’m still struggling with to a certain extent).

      And yes, I’m interested to see how the log goes too – like I said,I think I could use a little bit more accountability on the weekends in particular, and I think the log will do just that. long term though, I do not envision myself keeping a detailed log. i just need the accountability practice now and then (if all goes as planned), I’ll be golden by the end of the 60 days and the log will no longer be needed. Fingers crossed!

  5. I’m excited for you both and starting on Thursday, I like your workouts for each day,looks like it’s going to be a great challenge. Would love to know your thoughts on food and the food log and what is good to eat after workouts etc or before workouts. I sometimes find the information a bit mind boggling.

    • I will definitely keep you posted on the food portion of this challenge – for sure. I don’t think my eating (types of food) will change a ton, just how much of it I eat, or how I figure out where to fit wine into the log without starving myself in the process (kidding, kidding…kinda LOL)

  6. Wow – your schedule looks so hard core! And I love that they have an outdoor option.

    Food logs scare me – I tried keeping one once and I was mortified at how many calories I actually consume every day!

    • I know, I’m SUPER excited for that outdoor option – especially since it’ll allow me to hopefully run around the lake where the outdoor Barre N9NE class will be either right before or right after the class. It’s a great spot!

      I konw…the food log will be interesting, that’s for sure. Time will tell, right?

  7. this is going to be such a great experience! i am so, so excited for you that you’d think i was the one doing it! i can’t wait to follow along!

  8. Pingback: Coupla foodie changes… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: Can we do lunch? « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: And so it begins… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  11. Pingback: Now what? | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  12. Pingback: Celebrate: you | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  13. Pingback: Core Fusion: revisited. | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  14. Pingback: Reason #4,567 why I heart barre n9ne | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  15. Pingback: 60 days…one year later (before/after) | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  16. Pingback: #everytime | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  17. Pingback: Oh this (barre) journey | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  18. Pingback: the story behind the barre n9ne® 60 day challenge |

Leave a comment