Does this blog make me look fat?

So, I’m having a moment…a fat moment, that is. I know, I know, it’s crazy to me that I’d feel this way after doing not one but two workouts yesterday only to get up this morning to run 5 miles on the treadmill. I say this not to elicit compliments from my blogger friends (seriously!) or to pat myself on the back for all this working out but to illustrate a point. How the heck can I be having these feelings of self-doubt about my body with all the daily or twice-daily workouts I’ve been doing?

I feel like it’s a constant battle for me (and funny enough, my sister commented on the self-doubt issue in her blog last night, coincidence? I think not!). I’m not sure why, but I think its partly due to my type-A tendencies that nothing is ever good enough, and that I’m always harping on “does this make me look fat” or “OMG, I didn’t work out today, I’m such a slacker.” The tough part is that I’m truly all about balance/everything in moderation/blah blah blah, so why am I so hard on myself, I mean really?

I know this is not a healthy mentality, clearly, but how do I push down those negative feelings of self-doubt? I’m not sure what the answer is (yet) but it’s something I’m planning to work on in earnest, in the next few months. One thing that my sister and I have tried to do recently is (and don’t laugh) we give eachother a “body compliment of the day.” For the most part, that helps snap me out of the self-doubt/negative body image mode but I haven’t kicked it entirely, yet.

If y’all have any ideas in the meantime, let me know, I’m all ears!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Side update on Group Kick – meeting with the team lead on this at my gym tonight. Wish me (and my sister) luck, hopefully we can work it out, schedule-wise. At the very least, I’d love to get certified even if I can’t teach a class right off the bat. I’m all about life being too short and having no regrets, so hopefully I’ll have some good news tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Does this blog make me look fat?

  1. You need to stop this right now! πŸ˜‰ You are beautiful, healthy, and have an amazing shape! I’m completely jealous of your dedication, motivation, exercization (made that one up!) and I’m totally going to scarf down a doughnut when I’m done here. Maybe getting the certification and teaching a class will help create a more positive personal view of yourself. Because everyone else sees it honey, you need to too! And I love ya no matter what!

  2. Ok Jess, it’s not a “you” thing to have fat days..I think it’s a “woman” thing…seriously, we all have them and 99% of the time it doesn’t make sense. Why DO we think this way?

Leave a Reply

