Nothing happens overnight…

…and if anyone tells you that, they’re lying. There is no easy way around it, diet and exercise come hand-in-hand and it requires a commitment. I’m not gonna lie, it’s not easy. BUT, as you all know by now, I’m not one for uber-strict diets and crazy insane exercise regimes (unless you’re me and are just obsessed with working out LOL) but more about balance and enjoying life without feeling restricted (aka “tortured soul”) all the time.

One of my bestest friends (LYLAS – anyone remember that phrase, double points if you do!) suggested I do a blog post on this very topic. Ask and ye shall receive, my friend. šŸ™‚

She mentioned that her problem is that once she gets going with a good exercise and healthy, balanced eating regime, as soon as she starts seeing results, she starts falling off the wagon and spirals backwards. Or, she gets frustrated right away that she doesn’t see IMMEDIATE results. I don’t think she’s alone in this battle – everyone faces it, the question is, how to combat it?

I’m no expert by any stretch but what I’ve found that works is focusing on little goals, little victories each day/week instead of focusing on ginormous goals like “OMG I HAVE to fit into a size 8 for the wedding in six weeks” or “I cannot fathom working out four times this week, I’m just too tired.” Instead, take each week and tally up your little victories.

For example – last night, I was TOTALLY eyeballing the batch of chocolate chip cookies I made for Scott this weekend. I really, REALLY wanted one. Now, I had to take into consideration that I was also planning to splurge on a glass or two of wine with dinner that night so I thought to myself: “wine? cookie? wine? cookie?” I knew I shouldn’t have BOTH so I chose wine (c’mon, that was an easy choice!) and instead had an insanely tasty low-fat chocolate cupcake my sister made instead. It was a lot smaller than the cookie with a fraction of the calories. I still felt like I got a little treat AND had my wine too and didn’t feel deprived or guilty for eating it. It was a small victory.

So look at the little victories, all tallied up they are a big victory – these little steps are all helping you reach your goal. Whether it be to feel more toned and strong or to lose a pants size or something else entirely – every little bit counts:

  • Add another workout to your weekly regime and see how you feel knowing that you committed one more day to getting healthy and fit.
  • Come up with a new lunch option for the work week that is tasty but doesn’t make you feel deprived (for me this week? I came up with a really yummy turkey wrap on a low-carb/high protein wrap with spinach, a little bit of avocado and hummus, let me tell you it felt like heaven when I took a bite today!).
  • Try out a new exercise routine – maybe one that you thought you could NEVER attempt. I betcha you come out of it alive at the end and proud of yourself for doing it. šŸ˜‰ I know that was me during my first spin class or first attempt at running.
  • Choose one “treat” a day – a couple tootsie rolls after dinner, or a low-fat ice cream sandwich or some pudding – versus multiple treats throughout the day or one super high-cal splurge treat (like that chocolate chip cookie I was coveting the other night!).

Just a couple of ideas, I’m sure I could think of more! The moral of this story? It may not happen over night, but over time, it will, I promise. And it doesn’t have to be TOO painful, either. C’mon, a low-fat chocolate cupcake, how is THAT painful?! (check out the recipe here).

5 thoughts on “Nothing happens overnight…

    • I think its a good example of how to get into running – which is scary for so many people to begin with (me included!) – without burning out or getting frustrated right away. For me, running was the hardest thing to learn because it did NOT come naturally for me at all. It took me awhile to get it right, thankfully I had Scott as my mentor, but for those of you without a “Scott” to show you the running ropes (he ran all through HS and college), the couch to 5K program is a good way to get into the swing.

      I will say though, for me, the toughest part of any run has GOT to be the first mile or two. It takes me that long to get used to the pace and to get into a groove. I think a lot of people probably fall into that camp and end up giving up on running entirely before they realize that running actually can be pretty amazing, as “amazing” as exercise can be, that is šŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  2. Pingback: Pizza is making me feel ALIVE « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

