Things I’m thankful for: love

Before going back to regularly scheduled fitness-inspired blog posts, on the eve of Thanksgiving, I had to dedicate my final “thankful” post to love. And by love, I don’t just mean romantic love but I also mean the love of my friends, family, siblings and even my cats (who I adore!).

As I’ve said before, this year has been filled with ups and downs. But as we near the end of 2009, I look back and realize just how much of the ups AND the downs were filled with loving moments.

One thing that sticks out to me about this year is just how much stronger my marriage has become, and for that I am very thankful. I think when the reality of divorce settles in, as it has around me not just for my sister but two of my close friends, it really makes you take stock of what you value in your own marriage. I know this definitely rings true for me. I admit that before all of this went down, I had moments where I took Scott for granted which is awful and I’m so glad I’ve gotten the perspective of my friends and sister to really see just how incredible our marriage is. Not trying to toot my own horn here but we have really figured out how to make our marriage work and are having so much fun in the process. 5+ years in, we know how to laugh at eachother when we start to bicker over stupid things (that inevitably turn into bigger things for no other good reason than I’m stubborn as hell!); we have a good balance of goofball moments and serious, romantic moments (that typically turn back into goofball moments in short order!); and still know how to keep that spark alive and flickering away. Most of all, we respect eachother as individuals which I think is the real key to what makes our marriage tick. We LOVE spending time together but we also value our “alone” moments and he understands my need for girls nights (GNO and the occasional GNI!) and I understand his need for guys nights (bowling, football Sunday, etc.).  Of course, Scott also fully supports my workout obsession (and has even joined me in the STS journey which I love) and is SUPER supportive of the soon-to-come Group Kick experience which I love him all the more for (boy, he doesn’t know what he’s in for with this one!).

Going back to the ups and downs for a moment, I have to say that the downs have been invaluable in other ways, too. I think I probably have the best relationship I’ve ever had with my two sisters (have I mentioned that I’m a triplet yet?? I can’t remember!). We’re our own mini-support system for eachother and I realize how special that is, not everyone has not one but TWO pretty awesome sisters to turn to at a moment’s notice.The same holds true for the group of friends I’ve grown to love and adore over the years (my sister blogged about a similar topic this week), you ladies know who you are, and I love ya’ll very much! Girls nights are the best. 🙂

So along with being thankful for workouts that leave me spent and for the opportunities I’ve been granted over and over again this past year, I’m thankful for love.

On that note, I hope you all  have a wonderful, love-filled, food-filled and maybe even sweat-filled Thanksgiving tomorrow! I’ll check in at some point to let you know how the Wild Turkey Run goes, it’ll be worth the effort when I’m staring down the dessert table tomorrow afternoon, that’s for sure. 😉

4 thoughts on “Things I’m thankful for: love

    • Oh I’m sure he’d love it Heather, Scott got really into it the first time around, he’s going to do it again after the holidays. He works in retail so he’s so busy and his schedule is all over the place so Jan 1 it is! Enjoy your thanksgiving Heather (and Jo and Dan of course!!)

Leave a Reply

