Easing up?

Ok, so now that we’re less than FIVE days away from the Group Kick certification, I can hardly think about anything else. I’m still equal parts excitement and anxiety, though I have to admit I’m more anxious today now that it’s getting closer!

This weekend, I spent extra time at the grocery store stocking up on energizing snacks to bring with me this weekend. Everything from plain almonds, raisins and sunflower seeds (to make my own trail mix) to energy bars, greek yogurt and string cheese. So I think I’m pretty well-stocked in that department. But now, the big question (that my husband raised with me last night) – should I be easing up on the workouts a bit this week?

I know the answer is probably “yes” but I’m trying to ignore it as best as I can. So far, it’s not working. Hubby (and my intuition) is probably right. I should at least avoid much lower-body work towards the end of this week, and definitely should not double-up as I normally would on Thursday, huh?

So, with that in mind, I’m going to try to stick to this regime leading into the big training this weekend:

Today – STS workout (still doing the undulating rotation) for biceps/back

Tomorrow: STS legs (getting it out of the way early in the week to get rid of the DOMS by Friday)

Wednesday – Group Ride

Thursday – STS workout for shoulders, triceps, back; NO spin at night (boo!)

Friday – no AM workout since I”ll be working out pretty much from noon on!

Not too bad, right? I can ease up without really missing out on too much, right? So I”ll miss a spin workout and a Core Fusion workout this week, that’s ok by me. I want – NEED to – be READY for this weekend! (insert butterflies in tummy here)

*********

In other blog-related news, a big shout-out to my fellow blogger at Where’s the Beach who referenced my Friday post on Group Kick. Everyone with me – tell her that she can DEFINITELY embark on a group fitness certification too. I know she can do it, now everyone else go on over to her blog and reinforce that message with her too 😉

One thought on “Easing up?

  1. Thanks for the shout out!!! Looks like you have it all planned out regarding your workout. Always smart to plan ahead for those DOMS! My only suggestion might be to do your last weight workout on Wed and do cardio on Thurs? At least triceps and shoulders DOMS or more manageable than legs.

    I’m really excited for you and your sister. Can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

