A word about home gyms

In a word, I LOVE mine!

I mean, I do also LOVE my gym – I wouldn’t be doing Group Kick if I didn’t love it there too, but there’s a time and a place for both IMHO.

Today was DEFINITELY a home gym workout day. It’s utterly freezing today in New England. We just had our first major snowstorm of the season and I woke up at 5:15 to the sound of the wind HOWLING outside while my husband snoozed away. I just couldn’t fathom getting out of bed and into my freezing cold car to hit up Group Power today, it was just out of the realm of possibility. So THIS is why I love my home gym. It not only gives me lots of variety and lots of room to do the dozens of Cathe workouts I have at home, but it gives me ZERO excuses not to workout, even in the dark, cold winter mornings like today. How can I possibly rationalize not being able to get up and up the stairs to my home gym?? No excuses in my book!

My advice to anyone considering starting a home gym of their own – it’s not as much of a commitment as you’d think. You can start slow with just a few dumbells and resistance bands, throw in a few Cathe DVD’s (or Exercise TV workouts – Jillian Michaels anyone?) and you’re golden! At this point, I’ve accrued quite the stash of workout equipment including a full set of dumbells (the Bowflex SelectTech kind to save space); a barbell with weight plates, a weight bench, treadmill, assorted resistance bands, and other Cathe fun stuff like a weight vest and weighted gloves. Yes, I’m obsessed. And no, I didn’t buy all of this stuff at once, I built it up slowly, I promise! 🙂 And I didn’t even have a gym membership at all until about a year ago when I joined my gym to add spinning to my routine, I tried it once and was hooked. Well worth the $50 bucks a month considering I now go to the gym for spinning as well as other classes and such.

So anyway, back to this morning’s workout, I managed to do one of my FAVORITE Cathe workouts – butts & guts. It’s the best lower body and abs workout ever. It kills me everytime and I love it!

Speaking of Cathe, I cannot WAIT to get my STS Shock Cardio series! I got my shipping notification over the weekend so hopefully it’ll be here by Christmas. If you’re curious, check out the video clips for each workout on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/CatheTelevision

One thought on “A word about home gyms

  1. I started my home gym without even having a spare room for everything. I started with 3 and 5 lb dumbbells and The Firm DVDs (tapes actually). Next I got a stability ball and mat, and some 8 and 10 lb dumbbells. My first step was the “Barbie” sized Cathe step (it’s pink and itty bitty). Once I realized I enjoyed it, I moved up to the gym sized one. Oh, and all this was stashed under my couch and in the coat closet! So it’s totally doable even without the spare room (which I finally have).

    I totally agree that it’s nice to have the option of working out at home or a gym. You get totally different workouts and motivation levels.

    Oh, and I can’t wait for my Shock Cardio either!!! Mine is scheduled to arrive the 24th. So, I am fairly certain my cardio will come from one of those workouts. I may end up working out Christmas Day even just so I can try another one! Kid in a candy store!

Leave a Reply

