Oh Christmas cookie how I love thee

So I finally got into the holiday spirit today. Can you guess what put me in said holiday spirit?

Oh yes, I finally indulged in a holiday cookie, or two, or three. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It was brought to my attention recently that I hadn’t had a single holiday cookie yet this season, as if it were sacrilegious or something. Well, I ‘spose it kinda is for most people huh?

Well, it wasn’t totally intentional that I hadn’t given in to the urge, it was more that I wasn’t presented with the opportunity. I have to say, since Group Kick training kicked off, I’ve been so busy that I haven’t even noticed all the holiday festivities around me, or the fact that those holiday cookies were passing me by. And oddly, I didn’t really feel like I was missing out.

I’m actually kind of proud that I’ve pretty much behaved myself so far this season. No big, over the top splurges…yet. Tomorrow is another story altogether. It’s the annual Christmas Eve party at my house and it’s become a pretty awesome party each year. It’s mainly with Scott’s side of the family – his brothers and sister and their kids,ย  all his aunts and uncles, their kids, my in-laws, and a few friends that know full well that it’s not a party to be missed! Of course, my sister is a regular at the party and spent all afternoon today helping me prepare. THANK you Jo!!

I call this afternoon a cookie baking marathon because that’s what it was, really. We baked three kinds of cookies – peanut butter pushes, black & whites, and sugar cookies (see below for pics!). We also made banana bread (Jo had a craving) and cooked some of the food we’ll be eating at the party tomorrow. My father-in-law even came over this morning to help Scott make the sauce, meatballs, baked ziti and chicken sausages with peppers and onions. We’re in great shape for the party tomorrow, that’s for sure!!

And now that I’m sitting here looking back at the day, I’m so happy – THIS is what the holidays are about. Giving in to a splurge treat or two, spending time with family and friends and living life to the fullest. I’m totally looking forward to tomorrow, almost more so than to Christmas Day. Our Christmas Eve parties are such a blast, lots of laughter, lots of kids running around (none are mine, thankfully LOL), and lots of wine and food to be enjoyed. While I DO plan to workout tomorrow morning – Group Ride most likely – I plan to enjoy the day, eating more than I normally would (though Jo and I strategized today over what we would/would not eat tomorrow to avoid uber-regret later on!), and spending time with my husband, family and close friends.

With that, I’ll leave you with some pictures from today’s cookie baking marathon and wish you all a fabulous Christmas Eve! Enjoy every moment. Life is way too short!

5 thoughts on “Oh Christmas cookie how I love thee

  1. You’re welcome ๐Ÿ˜‰ And your mood has improved 100%, I’m proud ๐Ÿ™‚ this IS what the holidays about…never lose sight of that! (now, on to strategizing over tomorrow’s festivities…when in doubt, choose wine!!)

  2. You do have to indulge in at least 3 Christmas cookies, or one of each flavor. I think it’s kind of the law. That’s what I tell myself anyway ’cause I sure had a test taste or three of each batch last weekend!!! And listen to your sister about the wine!

  3. Pingback: The calm before the “storm” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

