Habits, STS and other ruminations

Last night, after blogging up a storm for ya’ll, I laid in bed wide-awake. Brain would NOT turn off. Of course, this is usually when I’m inspired by future blog post topics, future to-do lists and other random thoughts when I should be counting sheep. šŸ˜‰

Well last night’s fitful rest was a blog-inspiring moment. I got to thinking more about why I’ve been struggling a bit with Kick and I’ve figured it out. It hasn’t become a habit yet! I talked about forming the fitness habit back when I first started this blog and that it takes repetition and forming a routine that works for you before it’ll become truly second-nature, and just another part of your day.

Well, Kick clearly isn’t quite a habit yet but I’m bound and determined to make it one. I wish I could hit “fast forward” on the next six weeks merely to see how I turn out as a Kick instructor. Though, I suppose that’s all part of this journey huh? The bumps and bruises along the way that will mold me into the Kick instructor I want to be. Right now, I’m too focused on the musical cues in each round of each track and making sure that…

  • I’ve set my heel for each kick, especially those roundhouse kicks
  • If I’m supposed to be doing a jab, that I’m actually jabbing and not doing a hook or a cross or an uppercut
  • I don’t look like I’m swimming during those descending elbows
  • Each of my moves are sharp and staccato (I can hear Natalie, our trainer, shouting to us now: “out in, out in!”)
  • I look fierce, arms always in guard, set low in my stance, not high and bouncy and aerobic (Kick is the antithesis of your typical kickboxing routine if you haven’t figured that out already, its very aggressive, very martial arts, very DIRTY as our fitness director likes to remind us)

Aside from remembering all the technical form cues, I’m also thinking about what my next cue will be, what move do I need to tell the class to get ready to do, and oh yeah, I have to make sure I’m doing that move as technically accurate as possible.

Hmm, now do you see why I’m struggling? I truly think that once I really figure out technique and make THAT part a habit, the cueing and motivating will happen pretty naturally. That’s my hope right now, anyway. šŸ˜‰

In other ruminations…I got back into STS this week after a two week hiatus. And, wow did I miss it! I started another undulating rotation – I’m loving the shock-your-body feel of doing a different mesocycle each week. Today was focused on a back/chest workout from meso 3 (heavy weights, low reps). I noticed some good strength gains – but I also noticed just how worn out it leaves me at the end of the routine! A sure sign that it’s doing what it’s supposed to be doing. SHOCKING it!

2 thoughts on “Habits, STS and other ruminations

  1. Pingback: Shock and Plyo, Plyo and Shock « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  2. Pingback: Flipping that switch « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

