An ode to “overnight oats”

Ok, so this will be a quickie post since I’m back to work playing catch-up, post holiday break. BUT, I had to write this while it was hot on the mind, literally.

So, I have been dying to try this “overnight oats” recipe I stumbled upon on one of my favorite blogs – EatLiveRun. It always sounds so good and Jenna is always eating it for breakfast and raving about it. So I finally bought myself some steel cut oats over the weekend to try for breakfast this week. OMG best thing ever! I’m still eating it now but its so nice and warm and hearty and filling. I am in breakfast heaven. 🙂

Here’s the recipe – I highly recommend it!

1/4 cup steel-cut oats

3/4 cup water

pinch of salt

cinnamon to taste

2 oz. milk

1 tbsp almond butter

1 banana

I made this the night before since I was bringing it to work today – hence “overnight oats.” Take the oats, water, cinnamon and salt and bring to a boil, reduce heat to simmer until most of the water has been absorbed. Store overnight in the fridge. In the morning, take the oats, add the milk and microwave until the oats and milk mix together. Then add the almond butter (I probably added more like a teaspoon vs. tablespoon but use your personal preference, obviously) and heat until warm all the way through. Add the banana on top (Jenna’s recipe calls for adding the banana while you warm it with the almond butter but I prefer it on top at the end).

Its TO DIE FOR! I swear. Give it a whirl.

Totally set me off on the right foot today, after “sleep-driving” my way into work, post-STS workout (any of the Meso 1 workouts kill me, all that endurance work, whew). I also wanted to be fully fueled today given I have a Group Kick practice run tonight. I’m good to go, I could literally practice right now, the oatmeal was that good.

YAY for new recipes!!

3 thoughts on “An ode to “overnight oats”

  1. Need to try that one. I did one in the crockpot for Jason a few weeks ago. It made a TON. I was also freaking out all night thinking I was going to set the house on fire and then in the early morning I started smelling it so I was starved! LOL

  2. I’ve been meaning to try overnight oats and the breakfast cookie for months. Do you think the steel cut oats are essential, or could I get away with old fashioned?

    And thanks for the add to your blogroll! I’ll be adding you shortly to mine! 🙂 Bloggers gotta stick together, right?!

    • The breakfast cookie is on my list too! Dying to try it!

      As for the overnight oats, I think the steel-cut works best but maybe try experimenting? I’m telling you, I was on the fence on trying this but now that I have, I’m obsessed, obviously since I dedicated a whole blog post to it. 😉

      And yes, bloggers must stick together, love that you’re following! Appreciate!

Leave a Reply

