Ah, perspective!

Ok, so I was thisclose to NOT posting a blog today. I’ve had such a chaotic day at work that I haven’t been in the best of spirits. Basically made myself into a hermit crab and kept to myself in my office much of the day.

Talk about internalizing stress and for NOT a very good reason. Don’t get me wrong. I love my job. It’s fast-paced which I love but sometimes I let stress and trying to be everything to everyone get to me. I’m only human right? I try to remind myself – we’re not saving lives here, we’re just doing PR. It usually snaps me out of it but today was a toughie.

So, I finally had a moment to sit down and breathe. I moseyed on over to one of my best friends blogs and read her post from this morning. Wow. Total goosebump moment.

As I read the part of her post about the Bible reference, I felt a sudden sense of calm. Of course, this is the bit that got me good:

Why do we sometimes try to go it alone in life when at every moment we have access to God? He said: “I am with you and will keep you wherever you go” (Gen. 28:15). And He assures us: “I will never leave you nor forsake you” (Heb. 13:5).

Wow. And here I was stressing out big-time about work. Why? At the end of the day, I’m always going to have His support, I just need to remind myself of that. Clearly not something I’ve been doing a very good job at, lately! Ah, perspective, huh?

So now that my head is clear, I’m calm and am totally re-energized. Just like that. Who knew?!

I’m getting ready to pack it in for the day,  head home for an STS meso 1 workout (back/triceps) before surprise dinner #3 with Scott. Looking forward to further stress relief ala Cathe, her workouts get me every time! Maybe I’ll be super-motivated and will manage a short STS Shock Cardio Workout, too. Hmmm. 😉

2 thoughts on “Ah, perspective!

  1. Pingback: Going from “this might sting a little” to FOOD HEAVEN « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

