I feel silly

I’ve had a whirlwind of a week so far and have really struggled to find perspective. I’ve realized, at least for me, once I start going down the path of negativity, it’s a very slippery slope. But, as I was getting ready for another busy day at work today, I was listening to the news in the background and all the sad stories of what’s been going on in Haiti really struck me. Here I am, all down in the dumps because I’m feeling scattered and maxed out on everything in my life (work, Kick, finding time for friends, time for Scott, etc.; January started off with a bang that I wasn’t quite prepared for).

But – despite the chaos, at least I have a roof over my head, a bed to sleep in at night, a job that pays the bills and my friends and family are safe and secure. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must feel like for those in the thick of it in Haiti right now, or for those left behind here in the States, wondering and worrying about the safety of their loved ones. In comparison, my problems are so minor. After thinking this through while blowdrying my hair, I felt so silly for how poor my attitude had gotten in the past couple of days. While I can’t promise I won’t have “moments” like that again while things are still crazy in the next few weeks, I am going to try my best to conjure up that perspective we all struggle to find so often in life.

Anyway, now that I’ve had a chance to think, I’m feeling MUCH more centered and less scattered this morning. I listened to my Kick tracks on the ride into work and somehow it always makes me feel calm and ready for the day ahead. Funny that, given how high-intensity Kick is that I’d feel “calm” after listening to it. Maybe it’s because I’m so completely in LOVE with the program that it’s all I want to think about these days. 😉

Now that I’m full of overnight oats (tossed a few raisins in this version, very tasty), I’m off to conquer this day as best as I can before kicking it into high gear at Group Ride tonight. I managed to fit in an STS workout this morning, too (despite my best efforts to convince myself to stay in bed next to a very sleepy husband) which wiped me out – back and biceps from meso 2, killer!

7 thoughts on “I feel silly

  1. It is sooo easy to fall into the negative trap. Once you get started you can come up with a million things wrong in your life. But, just like you did, when I start to name off all the positives in my life, I feel much better. Yes, things may be stressful, but they could always be so much worse. At least we have jobs to stress us out and are capable of exercising to even feel sore.

    I have been making the overnight oats all week for my breakfast. LOVE those things. I am full right up to lunch!

    • It’s so true, but in the heat of the moment, its SO hard to take a step back and think big picture. At least I know I’m not the only one. 😉

      And Heather – YES, I’ve been obsessed with the oats!! They totally fill me until lunch! How have you been making yours? Any neat tricks to share?

      • I reheat mine with vanilla soy milk, add vanilla protein powder, extra cinnamon, and blueberries. I’ve been putting the blueberries in during the 2nd nuking so they are bursting. OH YUM. I want to try with Granny Smith apples too. I may try to add in some nutmeg tonight. I’ve been using 1/2 cup of the oats and 1 cup of the water and that gives me 2 morning’s worth. What all have you been adding?

      • So far I’ve only added raisins to mine and its been really good. I want to try adding protein powder and forgoing the banana to see how it goes. Or, I saw on another blog that she added egg whites and that turned out really well. Not sure how I feel about that option though??

  2. Pingback: The Friday Top 5 « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

