The Friday Top 5

I’ve been thinking. Part of my resolutions for 2010 was to focus on the little things that make me smile and avoiding going down that “negative path” we’re all guilty of sliding down. This week was a tough one for me, one that made it hard to find those “little things.”

I was able to dig myself out of that negative hole yesterday as you saw in my post where I finally found some perspective in light of the tragedy in Haiti. Sometimes the big picture is all that’s needed to snap out of it.

Well, now that Friday is here and things are a wee bit calmer for me, I thought I’d take a few minutes to list my “Friday Top 5” (basically anything positive I can think of that’s making me smile, that’s giving me new perspective, etc.).

Here goes!

  1. A Group Kick do-over: We had a small team practice this morning that, not gonna lie, we didn’t really rock. We were all pretty tired, legs felt like cement, weren’t at our best. It’s apparently been a long week for all of us. πŸ˜‰ So I’m actually really glad that we’re doing *another* Kick practice tonight, this time with our fitness director so I must bring my A-game. I may need a second venti for that…
  2. Speaking of Venti’s: My morning got better when I went to my favorite Starbucks (literally five seconds from work, annnnd it has a drive-thru, bonus!) and they were so friendly! They usually are, they know me and my sister’s order as soon as we arrive. Today I decided to forgo the drive-thru since the line was long and I wanted to get to work. I went in and didn’t even say a word – they had my venti pike all ready for me when I got to the counter and were just SO friendly and happy. It just made me smile. It didn’t hurt that the coffee was super fresh brewed so it was extra tasty. πŸ™‚
  3. Savory Oatmeal: WHAT is this and how come I’ve never heard of it before! Just hopped on over to one of my favorite blogs (The Balanced Broad, check her out) and saw this recipe. MUST TRY IT. Looks divine. Made my tummy growl a little bit.
  4. GNI Plans: Yup, you heard right, I said GNI (that would be “girls night in” for those of you not in the know). I have the best group of friends ever and it’s been way too long since our last girls night in. We try to do them monthly but it got a little hairy with the holidays so we haven’t had one since November. WAY too long. The theme is mexican – I’m making my famous guacamole (awesome recipe, will share it if you want!). Really excited about it. Always lots of laughs, good food, and duh, wine.
  5. A long weekend: This one snuck up on me. Didn’t even realize we got MLK off until I checked the calendar the other day! Work is a little crazy still so I may do a smidge of work on Monday but I don’t mind especially since I’ll be home annnd especially because Scott actually has the day off. He never gets long weekends (ah, retail) but since his new day off is Mondays, it works out pretty well.Β  Maybe we’ll sleep in and go out to breakfast together. Hmm.

Wow, that was a lot easier to come up with than I thought. I might have to make this a recurring theme. And, of course, now I’m curious what your top 5 list would look like!

11 thoughts on “The Friday Top 5

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I was hesitant to try the savory because I LOVE my sweet oats in the morning, but I’m already addicted. Having them for dinner again tonight. πŸ™‚

    I LOVE the idea of a GNI. I try to have GNIs every Monday when we watch the Bachelor. It’s amazing how much $$ you can save, plus I’m selfish and just want to try out new recipes on them! Speaking of recipes….I’d LOVE your guac recipe. I’ve never made guac, BUT I’m great at eating it!

    • I can’t wait to try those savory oats! I also just found this oatmeal breakfast cookie recipe, that I’d love to try with a scoop of protein powder through in.

      So the guac – super-easy and SO GOOD. You need:
      4 mashed avacados (fairly ripe but not too mushy)
      1/4 chopped onion
      1 clove diced garlic
      scallion (I usually put two chopped up stalks in)
      handful of cilantro, chopped
      4 chopped roma tomatoes
      juice of one lime
      salt/pepper
      dash (or a few) of hot sauce, I like it pretty hot so I add more
      dash or two of tequila (this makes it, trust me)

      SO GOOD, nice and fresh and chunky and delish!

  2. I love your list!

    I was watching the news on Haiti while I was on the treadmill this morning, and I couldn’t help but think about how lucky I am. I seriously had a lump in my throat while I watched how bad things are there. I think it’s important (and essential) to remind ourselves, so I love your idea of making a list… plain & simple! πŸ™‚

    • Hey Laura! Hope you’re LOVING Healdsburg, btw πŸ˜‰ But yes, I’m trying to get back to the simple things, because that’s really what life’s about right? I may have to make this Friday list a regular ocurrance πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: The Friday Top 5 returns! « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

