The problem with blogging…

…is that, by its very nature, is very personal. Not a bad thing at all, and that’s partly why I wanted to start a blog – my own little corner of the Internet that’s all mine to do with it what I please. The only downside I’ve noticed recently is that, at least for me, blogging has gotten me to focus on ME more than ever. And even THAT has an upside. But, let me back-up.

What I like about blogging, for me, at least, is that it’s given me an outlet to share my passion for fitness. I’ve been looking for ways to share my love of all things fitness and have found the answer in this very blog (and soon followed Kick, who knew?!). I love talking about my fitness goals, challenges surpassed, and of course, everything about this crazy Kick journey I’ve been on in the past month or so. I also love that this blog has forced me to re-examine me…from finding balance in my life (which is KEY and something I feel very strongly about), to documenting what does and does not inspire me to stay fit. And of course, I LOVE that this blog has helped me find such wonderful blog friends already, and this blog hasn’t even been around for very long. These are just a few of the reasons why I heart blogging.

What I’ve noticed recently? That this blog has focused on me. A. Lot. And duh, this is MY blog so of course it should focus on me, but on the other hand, I started this blog as a way to inspire others to find balance, to get (or stay) healthy and fit and to still enjoy the little things in life (a good glass of wine, for example?? Something I’m about to dive into myself…but I digress, see? Here I go again!). In re-reading some of my recent posts, I wonder if I’ve become TOO focused on me and my fitness journey versus sharing my ‘secrets to success’ with you all.

The reason the thought even crossed my mind was that I was battling myself over doing a second workout today (in addition to a killer STS Shock Cardio, core cardio circuit) and it got me thinking. I think I’ve been so focused on getting super-fit this winter (for Kick but also for my own fitness goals for 2010) that I’m sliding towards over-training and that’s not healthy. Over-training does NOT fall into the healthy balance mantra I chatter about all the time and I’ve got to remind myself of that…which is why I will not opt for workout #2 tonight and will enjoy some well-earned “me” time while Scott’s off at his bowling league. On tap for the night? Wine, tilapia and catching up on DVR, likely Biggest Loser. A good mix, no?

But back to my original point I was trying to make about blogging and this blog becoming so “me” oriented. I guess what I’m trying to figure out is how to balance all the talk about my daily fitness journey with inspiring you all with my experiences to commit to fitness, too. I’d love to hear from you guys if you’ve encountered this before and how you’ve balanced the “me” talk with the advice-giving, inspirational aspect of many of your blogs. If you have a good example, do tell! I’m all ears 🙂