“Embrace the sweat”

In my sister‘s oh-so-wise words this morning, I definitely needed to “Embrace the Sweat.”

I got so caught up in my own thoughts running around in my head about all the items on my to-do list that seem to be piling up on me again that I wasn’t even enjoying this morning’s workout. How sad is that? I LOVE to workout, this much you all know, so why ruin it by letting my cluttered, stressed thoughts override the power of a good sweatfest?

Especially during one of my favorite STS workouts – it’s in the meso 2 series and its a leg workout. It was one of those love-to-hate workouts too. It’s filled with a series of trisets – basically three sets of three leg exercises done back-to-back three times. Rest, move on to the next triset of a different set of three exercises done back-to-back before moving on to the final triset, topped off with calf raises (which are already screaming at me, I might add). I swear, meso 2 leg workouts are probably the most intense and sweat-inducing leg workouts of the entire STS series, and I love every minute. So I kicked myself halfway through after my sister’s text comment about “embracing the sweat” and ended up with a great latter half to the workout. I must say, I think I love leg workouts best of all weight training workouts. Though, I’m also partial to a good bicep and shoulder weight lifting routine, too. 😉

So yeah, I have got to get away from letting outside thoughts clutter up my workouts – they are my ME time, I’m doing myself a total disservice by not embracing every sweaty minute, am I right?

On that note, I’m off to plow through a jam-packed day before heading out for some Kick training – we’re focusing on kicks tonight in preparation for *another* sneak peek on Thursday night followed by, dum dum dummmm, the big LAUNCH on Saturday! Wahoo!! I seriously can’t believe it’s almost here, I’m so excited, and, not gonna lie, really proud of all my sister and I have accomplished in such a short amount of time. Go us. 🙂 Annnd, we should have our Kick tanks for Saturday so I’ll even feel more badass with my gear on from head-to-toe – I promise to take a picture of my sis and I before we head over to the launch. It’ll be a goody. 🙂

8 thoughts on ““Embrace the sweat”

  1. You know, maybe that’s what some of my problem is with my workouts lately. I don’t just enjoy that time set aside for “me” because I am so focused on everything else that still needs to get done. It’s my time, and I need to learn to enjoy that time and not worry about anything else. I think I needed this post this morning!

    • SO glad to hear that I could help you for a change, Heather. Maybe that HAS been your problem, you’ve lost sight of what it is about fitness that draws you to it day in and day out. Just remember, its all about you 😉

  2. I loooooove a good sweat especially in the morning, even if I don’t want to work out at the time! My gym is like a little oasis especially after I am done and in the sauna hehe 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog, I am looking forward to following yours!

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 As for your gym being your little oasis, I totally agree – both my home gym and actual gym are my “favorite” place to be…well aside from a tropical island with my sweetie and a frozen cocktail, that is 😉

  3. I tended to get caught up in my thoughts/worries when I was running a lot. Usually skipping to a good song could pull me through it, but I know that feeling! Especially when you view working out as a hobby, it’s hard when you don’t appreciate it…ya know? You will get there! Just keep focusing on what your body is allowing you to do – and how amazing it is that you’ve prepared for this is such a short period of time!

    • Agree with you both (Balance Broad and Laura Dishes) – there is no good reason to rush through something we enjoy doing, I’m gonna try to take that to heart as best as I can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

