“Size Healthy” among other things…

I was totally inspired after reading a post from one of the newest blogs that I’ve started following recently – A Healthy Fit.  She stumbled upon an awesome response from Angela over at Oh She Glows who responded to a reader’s question about what size pants she wore (kinda personal question, no??).  Her answer, though, was awesome: Size Healthy.

Size Healthy.

Let’s think about that for a second. Is it *not* the most awesome response ever? I mean, think about it. We, as a nation, are notorious for two things – 1) being one of the least fit nations in the world and 2) for those of us who do focus on fitness, we inadvertently end up focusing on the wrong things…like the size of our pants, or the darn number on that scale that lurks in everyone’s bathroom across the country.

But why? Its become this weird “popularity” contest to see who has the “best” jeans size and it’s just sad, really.

I’d much rather compare these things instead:

  • The best sweat fest ‘o the week
  • An awesome new recipe that tastes great AND is healthy (yes, it can be done!)
  • A strength gain – upping those weights by 5 or 10 lbs, or adding more reps – that’s accomplishment in my book!
  • A compliment received by a friend or family member that you actually take graciously (I, for one, am horrible at taking compliments!!)

So, who is with me? What size are you? Size Healthy!!

On another note, I’ve noticed a few of my friends and family who have turned over a healthy new leaf, and for the right reasons – to be healthy, fit, females. So I ask them too (and you know who you are!) to get on the Size Healthy bandwagon and go for it, no crazy fad diets, no extreme workout regimes, just balanced, smart eating and exercise. Doesn’t sound nearly so bad when you put it that way, right??

With that, I’m off to whip through this Friday – with a few packets of emergen-c in hand (seems to be working!) – and am looking forward to a packed weekend. Tonight – catching up with my Cathlete friends (us below at the Cathe RT last year) over wine and apps, tomorrow – Kick at 10:30 and then Kick practice at 3 (ouch) and Sunday – a baby shower for one of my best friends (I’ve known her since I was 4,  awww).

Happy, “size healthy” Friday, friends!

11 thoughts on ““Size Healthy” among other things…

  1. I totally loved Angela’s Size Healthy post. I’m with you on comparing strength gains and recipes rather than clothing sizes! Oh, and I’m bad about accepting compliments too. What’s up with that??!! Glad to hear that you haven’t gotten sicker. That’s a good sign. Sounds like you’ve got a busy busy weekend ahead. No time to get sick!

  2. I LOVE the size healthy idea! I’ve noticed with a lot of the bloggers who are doing the “ask anything” forum, that they almost always get how much do you weight/what size are you. It’s sad, but I won’t lie – I think I’ve been conditioned (and other women) to “go by” size. I need to un-condition myself!!! I am working on it, very hard.

    I agree that we need to look at our health and compare our strengths, healthy recipes, etc. THOSE are the things that matter. Not what number is in the label of our pants!

  3. I agree, it’s totally NOT about the number, but how you feel, how strong you are, and fit FEELING. It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?! And love that pic, can’t wait to see the ladies!

    • So glad ya’ll agree (sis, BalanceBroad, Where’s the Beach) – it’s a hard mold to break but it can be done, right? No more numbers – scales, pants sizes, calories (well obviously we need to know about how many calories we’re eating but I’m thinking about those addictive food diaries!). It does feel pretty good to just live vs. counting our lives away huh?

  4. I love it!! I’m totally stealing this and gonna use it on anyone if they ever ask me, haha! 😉 Thank you so much for posting about this. It is the perfect thing for me to read right now. Very uplifting!! 🙂 Happy Friday!!

  5. I like the size healthy thing too. I get way too obsessed with sizes. Like if I’m in a store and what I consider to be my normal size doesn’t fit, I won’t try on the bigger one. I know it’s just a number and I need to get over it!

  6. Pingback: The “Wicked Half” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

