Word of the day: shake

As in, shake it off. STAT.

Without sounding totally melodramatic (because really, it could be MUCH worse), I’m feeling really down and out and I can’t shake it off for the life of me. I haven’t felt this negative and doubtful in a long time and I am just having a really hard time trying to brush it off and get back to the “Positive Polly” I know is lurking in me somewhere.

I know I’m in a bad place if my sister agreed the second I said something to that effect to her earlier today via blackberry IM (yes, we text all the time, even in the midst of getting ready for work in the morning…and that’s after we spent the last two hours at the gym together, what can I say, we’re weird!).

The most frustrating part? What’s bothering me isn’t that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things and I know there is a light somewhere at the end of that tunnel, I just wish I could fast-forward to that “light.” Though, as in all things, I know these “down” moments all have meaning and are all meant to be learning moments, making me stronger and a better person overall. I especially hate that I’ve gotten to this dark point where I’m sort of going into fight or flight mode which is supremely frustrating – I’m NOT a quitter by any stretch so why am allowing negativity to overshadow EVERY step of my day? It’s just not worth it and I know this. Yet, I still can’t seem to shake, shake, shake it off.

I’ve even let this bout of negativity interfere with my feelings towards Kick. Again, like I said earlier this week, teaching Kick is me fulfilling a lifelong dream. It’s utterly ridiculous that even that has turned from an exciting, invigorating, quasi-scary challenge into a stressful thing lurking in the back of my mind. I’ve lost sight of the purpose behind Kick – for me, but for those taking my class. For me – it’s a passion fulfilled; for students taking class – it’s their outlet for releasing stress, it’s an opportunity to sweat (like whoa) and it’s FUN. Losing sight of those things means I’m no longer enjoying the fact that I’ve made a dream come true which is sad and silly, really.

Apologies in advance for being SO darn down and out today. This is one of those “blog-it-out” moments, clearly. I promise I will SHAKE IT OFF as quickly as I can. I’m thinking tonight might involve a second workout – just some treadmill work to release the pent-up frustration I’m feeling. We’ll see.

In the meantime, can someone point me to the “fast forward” button, please? šŸ˜‰

PS. THANK YOU for all the advice regarding the Cape Cod Relay, SO unbelievably helpful – and all of your comments and thoughts made for an all-time high traffic day for the blog, pretty cool! So my decision? I’m not going to do the relay – but ONLY because it would mean sacrificing my laser focus on Kick which is my #1 priority right now. Good decision, I think so!

11 thoughts on “Word of the day: shake

  1. You sound like my sister and me so I don’t think that’s weird at all!!! We’d be even worse if she lived in the same city with me. Remember, no fast-forwarding and wishing the days completely away! I don’t really have any advice that will make things instantly better. Maybe take a day off (from everything) and just enjoy doing something you really want to do. Maybe the day with Scott, or shopping, or both. Or just sleeping. Sometimes the more you think on things, the worse they can get too. I’ve been there so HUGS!

    • Holly, Laura, Heather, Jo – thank you all for the words of support/advice. I knew I could count on ya’ll for a boost today. I’m telling ya, blogging it out works wonders! I highly recommend šŸ™‚

  2. I’m going to buy you a copy of “The Secret” CD or DVD. It is totally transforming the way I think and approach life. If you know that light at the tunnel is there, you need to act like you have already reached it. And it will be here sooner than you think.

    It may sound like mumbo jumbo, but it will help you feel better about things. I know you have that Positive Polly still in you.

    XOXO,
    Optimistic Ollie

    • Thank you, dear. I am thinking you’re right, you got something there with “The Secret” mumbo jumbo you keep talking about!
      Thanks for believing in the goober in me, you’re the bestest šŸ˜‰
      Signed,
      Positive Polly-in training

  3. don’t be too hard on yourself. just feel the frustration, acknowledge it and then turn in into a great workout!! This is totally normal so no sweat! And there will even be times where you wish you didn’t have to teach…at least that is how I feel sometimes. Just because you are frustrated and mad doesn’t mean you want to quit or seem like a quitter…you are just having a human moment!

    Mel-i am going to try and use goober today! i agree that is an under-used word!

  4. Pingback: Time-urgency impatientness (TUI) « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  5. Pingback: Embracing your inner ‘Skinnygirl’ « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

