A kick assessment, or two…

Whew. I gotta take a knee.

I am totally spent from this morning’s Kick class! Oddly, I’m both energized and drained all at once, not sure how that’s possible but I digress. I do feel a wee bit better now that I’m full of delish overnight oats. Yum.

On my ride into work today, I decided it was high time I gave myself a self-assessment after today’s class. And, since my sister was there teachingย  too, I asked her to “rate” me as well so you’ll see her comments in bold italics throughout. This is my attempt at a quasi-“guest” post, so bear with me here. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, today was our first Kick class that just the two of us taught which was both fun and a little bit scary too given that this was the first time we’d each be responsible for teaching half of the class. And wow, I gotta say, I still don’t know how we’ll ever work up the endurance needed to teach the entire class solo. I said this during class, “it just doesn’t get easier” because it’s true – each track challenges you in a new way, each track leaves you breathless and/or body sore and the farther into the program you get, the harder it is to keep you form solid, your cueing “on” and your energy up.

But, alas, I think we did a pretty good job and dammit, I tried my best to have FUN (but more on that in a minute). I was annoyed with myself at the beginning – I didn’t fully take Mary Kate’s advice about introducing myself personally to everyone in class (there were 10 today, woo!), partly because they all showed up at the last minute but partly because I got in my own way again (darn shy mini-me be GONE!).ย  Gah – will she just go away already?? Shoo, shoo!

But, back to my “self assessment” here, where was I? Oh – so I was in charge of starting the class with introductions, teaching tracks 1-4 before handing it off to Jo and then teaching the conditioning track near the end. I tried to be “myself” without feeling too rehearsed or staged and I think I sorta pulled that off but I could feel myself and my tone falling into monotony here and there. In my head I was yelling at myself to quit it but it wasn’t working too well. See? I’m such an overthinker – I’m even thinking about thinking too much while I’m teaching. What the?!

I agree โ€“ you did great with the intro, demonstrating moves but when you started the warm-up, you got a little monotone, but I could tell it was because you were โ€œthinkingโ€ too hard. B-

In terms of form, I think my technique was better today, I tried to throw my shoulder into the jabs and crosses more and tried to put some power behind my kicks. My kicks, however, were hindered by balance today – ever have one of those “off” balance days?? Well today that was me. I couldn’t get it right to save my life. I made a joke out of it though, which I think helped. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Form was good, from what I could see โ€“ the elbows were sharp, you had more power in your knees and jump knees. The balance part was funny, and added to the humor and โ€œlikeabilityโ€ factor. A

If I were to rate myself today, I’d probably give myself a B- or maybe even a C+? I think I’m just about above average but still have a ways to go before I could fathom giving myself anything higher than a B. But, with each class taught, improvements are made, and isn’t that really what it’s all about?

Overall rating: B+ – I wanted you to interact with me a little bit more, which is why I kept glancing at you and whispering stuff in your ear. I also think itโ€™s harder to jump right into it and be all interactive, as it was easier for me to do when it was my turn, since we were all warmed up and grooving. Though I did mess up during Track 5 when that guy was teasing me about Bon Jovi ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now that I’ve assessed myself (thanks Jo, for your input! For the record, I thought you were pretty fab today, more of a solid B in my opinion!), I feel settled and confident that if I can keep a self-critical eye on cueing/tone (#1 priority), power of my moves (#2) and choreography, I will become the “A” instructor I want to be. My “let yourself be great” moment is looming, I can feel it. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “A kick assessment, or two…

  1. Loved today’s post! You crack me up. It’s sad to overthink overthinking and thinking about overthinking isn’t it!!! I have been repeating the “Let Yourself Be Great” mantra to myself this week. I need it tattooed on my body somewhere.

    I have the opposite shy issue – I am shy and have a teeny tiny outgoing mini-me buried deeply!!!

    • Ha! I’m glad I could entertain you today, Heather ๐Ÿ˜‰ I agree – we totally need to tattoo that phrase on our body somewhere…or make t-shirts, or SOMETHING

  2. i thought about you this morning while I was teaching too! It does take time to lose those inhibitions and just ‘fake it’ until it comes natural. Just remember you know more than the participants(unless they are instructors) and they have respect for you and what you are trying to do for them! You will become that Rockstar you know you can become!! B+ is great!

    • Aw, thanks Mary Kate! I figured you’d appreciate that I was trying to channel you (rather unsuccessfully) this morning. You’re right, I do need to remember that the people taking class think us instructors are pretty darn good even if we are faking it until we make it, right??

  3. My favorite line from this post, “Gah โ€“ will she just go away already?? Shoo, shoo!” I can totally remember saying this in my life before too, haha! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Annnnnd, I have totally thought about thinking too much too, so funny when you think about it, don’t you think? Omg, I’m such a dork! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

