Going solo

I did it.

I taught my first Kick class solo.

As in all by myself.

Meaning – taught all ten tracks without a break.

With no partner.

Result?

Sucking wind big-time but I made it!

I was mildly concerned that I’d be ready to pass out around track 6 or 7 (and I was a little light headed, not gonna lie) but I powered through to the end. I would’ve liked to have finished the last muay thai with more energy but alas, a challenge for the next solo class, right?

So what did I learn from today’s solo excursion?

  • That I CAN do this. Duh, I just DID it.
  • That I really DO know this release like the back of my hand (except for one shuffle back vs. shuffle forward!)
  • That I am getting there in the pre-cuing, better than before, but still a work-in-progress.
  • That my tone is stronger but now I need to work on not sounding too monotonous which I sensed near the end as I wore myself out.
  • That my form is pretty darn good, but I need to really watch it as I get tired or I’ll lose my form and I’m sure that won’t fly when I tape my video assessment!
  • That this is FUN.

Yep, today was fun. I was a little bit apprehensive so even though I’d view today’s experience as fun and overall a success, I think the NEXT solo run will be even better because I’ll know what to expect and I’ll know what to watch for (form, tonality) as I get tired during the latter half of the workout.

It’s kind of crazy, I almost labeled this post “nearing the finish line” since I’m getting close to taping my video assessment (probably next couple weeks??) but really? There is no finish line. The video assessment is just the next speed bump along the way. I’ve learned that this experience truly is a continued work-in-progress and a LOT of work at that. You can’t jump into something like this and not be dedicated and ready to work because it truly is never-ending. Once I pass my video assessment (or once I tape it, even), I’ll be reviewing and learning a whole set of ten new tracks for the April ’10 release which I’m thinking we’ll be launching in another month or so at the gym. Um, crazy! But awesome, too. This has been such an eye-opening experience and one that I wouldn’t trade for the world.

Today reminded me exactly why I’m in it until the “end” (whatever that means). I’m living out my dream and it’s awesome. Words cannot describe. I actually caught my reflection in the window at one point this morning, all decked out in my Kick attire and headset and thought, “wow, that’s really me up there teaching!” I really did. So weird, as if this whole thing was just a dream or something. Nope, it’s real. Thank God. šŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Going solo

  1. Congrats sis – you’re my Kick idol šŸ˜‰ But only till I teach solo next week – just kidding! You did great, you didn’t seem like you were dying, and you made it!! Good points on areas for improvement, I agree with them, but don’t be too hard on yourself, just focus on being great šŸ™‚

    • LOL yes, then you can be MY Kick Idol, do we have a deal? šŸ˜‰ You’re right, trying not to focus on what I did wrong/need to improve on and just embrace the improvements I’m making instead. Seems to work better that way!

  2. WOW – congratulations, girl!! You totally rocked it!!! I SO wish I could take one of your classes. šŸ™‚

    I love what you said about there not being a finish line. This is super cheesy, but I guess that can be true about so many things. I love to “finish” things, but some things are just ongoing – and that’s okay! Good, even. You are only going to get stronger and more confident from here on out. This totally must have made your day!!

    • Thank you, Holly!! You must’ve thought I was nuts emailing you back right before class started this morning huh? I needed a distraction so I wouldn’t get nervous, hehe. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

