Focusing on being “present”

And by “present,” I mean “in the moment.”

While it’s been part of my ongoing ruminating, and was definitely a new years’ resolution for myself, I was reminded and/or inspired to revisit the concept today when I read one of my favorite blogs, Laura Dishes. Her post today mentioned her focus on being “present” while she was on her run where she found herself suddenly iPod-less and realized how great it was just to soak in the sights and sounds around her. Isn’t it funny how things just seem so different when you really do stop and just BE in that moment? Whatever it may be?

Currently the moment I’m in? About to hit a meeting before wrapping up my day and just devoured a delicious Chobani vanilla yogurt with some Fiber One sprinkled on top. The yogurt was creamy and delish and makes me happy. πŸ™‚ Well – that’s sort of a lame “in the moment” moment but you get the idea. If you stop and forget the part about being at work, scrambling to get things done and just focus on something as mundane as eating a yogurt and things suddenly seem different, somehow.

Maybe it’ s just me but the whole “bloom where you’ve been planted” concept has REALLY stuck with me this week and has made a world of a difference. I just feel much more at ease and at peace with where I’ve been planted and am living in the moment much more lately. Even this morning at Kick, I was in the audience so the pressure was off which gave me a chance to peek around at the class while working out. It was just so amazing to see familiar faces who just weeks ago had no idea how to Kick it with us and now they’re following along great and even showing improvements. And why is that? Because their darn good instructors-in-training taught them those moves! SUCH sweet satisfaction knowing that. Plus, there were two new faces in class today who made a point to come up to both me and Steph (who taught today) to thank us, telling us how much they LOVED the class. I even noticed about halfway through class that the sun was beaming into the room, glinting off our sweaty faces and even THAT made me smile. It means spring is here!

How’s THAT for being “present” and “in the moment” today, huh??

So anyway, I just had to jot down these thoughts while they were rolling around in my head. AND to let you all know that I may go a little quiet on you this weekend. In the spirit of being “present,” I’m going to try to disconnect until Sunday. I have the ENTIRE weekend off with Scott, starting tomorrow actually, to spend together which we have been looking forward to since our last “date weekend” over a month ago. Since then, we’ve both been working fools so we’ve not had a bunch of time together lately.

On the docket? Restaurant Week in Boston is in full swing so we’re taking full advantage – hitting up Morton’s Steakhouse (I’m a sucker for a good steak and an even better Cabernet!) and staying in the city tonight. We have a hotel night’s stay we’ve been saving up from a Red Cross event we attended last fall.

Aside from tomorrow’s big date, we’re planning a “party for two” at home on Saturday and a long run on Sunday since it’ll be warmer and sunny that day and I’ve been DYING to get that long run in we didn’t manage last Saturday. πŸ˜‰

So, while I’m trying not to “can’t wait” the weekend away too quickly, I am looking forward to getting the last few things checked off my to-do list so I can kick off the long weekend in style. There *may* be an evening run in the works tonight with my sis (since tonight Scott works late) but we’ll see, I am one tired chick after a rollercoaster of a week, lemme tell ya!

7 thoughts on “Focusing on being “present”

  1. I think there is a difference between can’t waiting and anticipating. Don’t you? You’re not wishing today away, but you are (rightfully so) looking forward to what tomorrow and the weekend will bring you. I think it goes without saying that you’re going to have a fabulous weekend. Soak it all in, be in the moment and enjoy!

    • That’s a good way of looking at it Heather….sounds better than rushing it, now doesn’t it? πŸ˜‰ And yes- I do plan to soak it in and be in the moment the ENTIRE time if I can help it πŸ™‚

  2. Being in the present is such a challenge for me!! I need to put forth more effort!! Thanks for the reminder!! πŸ™‚

    Your weekend sounds so nice!! I allllllways look forward to weekends!! πŸ™‚

  3. Aww, Jess, thanks for the shout-out! I’m noticing that when we focus on being in the moment, things aren’t quite as stressful and nothing is the end of the world. We need to challenge each other to work on this!

    If you end up going to Morton’s, definitely get the hot chocolate cake! πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve actually read several books (mostly on Buddhism) that talk about being in the moment. I have a very hard time with it. I’m always waiting for the next thing to happen.

Leave a Reply

