“…nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.”

I stumbled on this quote today while taking a quick bloggie break, meandering to a few of my newer found fitness blogs in my RSS reader, this quote I found on “Mama’s Fit Life” which I actually discovered via another newer (to me) blog, “All Vegged Out.

Be active, be energetic, be enthusiastic and faithful, and you will accomplish your object. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

This quote totally spoke to me — it falls very much in line with my current feelings for really living in the moment, avoiding the negative thinking (where possible, I am only human! – those “fat days” happen too, right??), and being happy in my current situation, whatever that may be. It’s so true, though– nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm. Enthusiasm and greatness come hand-in-hand, for real — can you think of even one example of something great happening that didn’t involve effort and a positive, optimistic and enthusiastic outlook? I don’t think I can.

So anyway, it was definitely the exact right quote for me to stumble on today. I was feeling a little bit grouchy and annoyed today (for one reason or another) but this quote from Mama’s Fit Life and the blog I read first from All Vegged Out were both great reminders.

Rebeca’s post today was about being stagnant – and just how much that feeling can infiltrate all areas of our lives. Her main point was that stagnance prevents us from truly LIVING. From her post:

My life, of late, has been stagnant. I get up allowing myself the bare minimum of time to get ready for work. I go to work. I sit there barely enjoying my wonderful students. I stay in my classroom at lunch rather than talk to my colleagues. I run my program but carry a load of unhappiness with me. I trudge home, make a quick, lackluster meal. Eat on my bed. Stare at a screen. Sleep fitfully.

The last part got me, especially — “sleep fitfully.” Eye-opening — I have NOT had a good night’s sleep in at least two weeks, at least not during the work week, and its gotten worse lately. Thankfully last night was a decentย  night’s sleep which I desperately needed, but still. The fact that she mentions it here in relation to stagnance and not really feeling like she’s been living lately got me thinking. I think a lot of those feelings I’ve blogged about lately have been rolling around so much in my head that its actually causing me to lose sleep. That’s not to say that blogging it out hasn’t helped because it has, but maybe I’m nearing some sort of revelation and its starting to come out in my sleep patterns? Or maybe its just my brain trying to tell me to stop overthinking and to just enjoy my life for what it is – pretty balanced, filled with loving friends and family, a job that pays the bills and a workout regime that, while intense, is what keeps me centered and healthy and alive.ย  Who knows, I could be WAY off, but of course, now my mind is a-flutter with thoughts, ha.

So, anyway, I had to jot this down while it was fresh on my mind. I’m now scrambling to get things done before heading off to my sister‘s Kick video assessment tonight, whoops. I know she’ll rock it – she always does. ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on ““…nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.”

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and I’m so glad you found the Emerson quote helpful. I often have to check my attitude on this journey to a healthier life. That quote is definitely one of my reminders of how I should be approaching my life!

  2. What a great post! I loved that quote by Emerson! It is so true…I mean if we have to do everything that we do we might as well enjoy it, right?

  3. Great post and awesome quote. Love it. I think it’s so true. I sleep very fitfully and it’s always b/c I’m thinking, planning, thinking, planning. I spend so much of my time planning ahead rather than just enjoying what I have. Last week I did soooo well with being in the moment and enjoying life even if I was at work. It was one of the best weeks I can remember in a very long time. This week I was hoping for the same. Alas, not so. I realized it’s b/c I’m too busy planning ahead again. Not exactly wishing the work days (hours) by, but just not enjoying the moments.

    • Heather – once again, um we are like the same person, I swear. I’ve been trying so VERY hard to enjoy every moment of the day, even those spent at the office when it’s expected to be 80 out today. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m going to print out this quote and stick it to my computer, I’ve decided. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Em- so glad it was eye-opening for you! Love that!

      Kelly – duh, I know, right? If we “have” to do things like chores, errands, work, etc., what’s the point doing them all grumpily (yes, that is a word!) when it’s just affecting our moods but nobody else’s? Hopefully this new frame of mind will last for me, fingers crossed!

  4. GREAT POST!

    This is what I love about blogging, the fact that my thoughts sparked your own, and now I’m re-thinking things to.

    Hope you lived in the moment today!

    • Hi Rebeca – YES, exactly!! This is exactly what makes blogging so fun, I love reading other blogs and finding shared thinking or perspectives, or new thinking that is such an eye-opener, quite like your “stagnant” post was for me yesterday. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I LOVE that quote. Very, very true! I need to remind myself of it, since I definitely feel very “stagnant” these days. Definitely looking forward to a job hunt in a couple of months, and hopefully finding a job I don’t despise! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: A mixed bag ‘o emotions « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

