Change.

My husband got laid off from his job yesterday.

There is a LONG story behind all of this that I won’t get into in its entirety here, but essentially his company had to reduce head-count at his level (after they cut at the lower levels and at the corporate office) and rather than doing it smartly or even remotely strategically, they wussed out. Basically let HR make the decision vs. allowing the district managers choose who was to stay and who was to go based on performance. Instead, HR chose based on time in role – and Scott happened to be one of three at the 2 year point in their position – not exactly “new” to the role, to say the least. But I digress.

Scott has been a dedicated, hard-working, and enthusiastic assistant store manager at this particular retail grocery chain for fifteen years.

Fifteen years of dedication, incredible work ethic and a smile every single day.

He never complained when they changed his hours up (which ended up drastically impacted how much time we had together not just on the weekends but during the week as well). It got to the point where we didn’t spend any time together most weekends and maybe two nights a week were we able to share dinner together. Not exactly a very good balance there, to say the least.

Yet – he never complained. He just plugged on. We made it work.

So, needless to say, yes – I’m a little bit angry that his company would be so short-sighted. I feel for him because he deserves so much better. But on the other hand, I’m looking at this as a blessing in disguise.

Maybe this will give us a chance to collectively find better work/life balance. It’s bound to be better than what we’d been dealing with up until this point. Plus, Scott has the time he needs to sit back and really think about what his next step will be which is a luxury, and not one to be taken lightly, that’s for sure.

The other piece of this puzzle that I’m really thinking about today? That this will be the first time in the history of our entire nearly 10 year relationship that I’ll have THIS much time with Scott. I’m so used to his work schedule leaving us little time for “us” on the weekend – he’d usually work Saturdays and every other Sunday. And, during the week, our schedules were fairly similar up until recently when he started working a few nights.

So now? The sky’s the limit.

I’ll wake up to workout and he’ll be right next to me, working out by my side (which I’m so excited about – what a great way to start my day!)

I’ll come home from work and more than likely, dinner will be made and we’ll eat it together – my, what a novelty.

And the weekends? Now that’s going to be an entirely different world for me. I had quite the routine worked out on Saturdays to keep busy – working out in the morning, cleaning the house top-to-bottom and errands in the afternoon. Worked out pretty well. I jammed as much into the day so I could enjoy the rest of the weekend with Scott when he got home from work.

Now he’ll be there ALL weekend. We can spend time together. He can spend more time with his friends than he’s had time for in the past. We will have a level of freedom for the forseeable future (at least near-term) to enjoy the weekends as our time, not one interrupted by work schedules. I honestly don’t quite know what to make of this change. It might sound so normal to all of you that don’t have a job that requires nights/weekends but for me, this is a treat, a luxury, something not to be taken for granted. So needless to say, this is all so very surreal to me. I’ve never experienced it with Scott ever, ever, EVER in our relationship. Crazy.

All in all? This change is going to be a welcome one. Yes, it’ll be stressful at times while Scott figures out his next step. But, I’m also looking forward to the next phase in our marriage, I sense good things on the horizon. Great things, even. And, in honor of that prospect, I bought Scott a book today to keep him busy – been wanting to buy it since getting back into the Joel Osteen ministries again. The title of Joel’s latest book?

This is your time.

Pretty perfect, huh?

15 thoughts on “Change.

  1. Hey girl. So sorry to hear about the lay off. It sounds like you’re seeing the positive side though and that’s great to hear. I am sooo happy that you guys will get to enjoy more time together. When Jason was still working in the restaurant biz we only got 1 day together. He worked Tues-Sat 2-10 or 11. We never got to eat together, never really got to do anything on the weekends unless it involved going out super late with other restaurant folks.

    I will say that when he finally got a job with normal hours, it did take some adjusting. I was so used to “MY” routine and he had his of course. I totally digressed when all I should have said was that I totally understand how happy you must be at this new change!!!

    • Thank you Heather! I love your insight – I didn’t know he was in the restaurant biz before, that must’ve been SO tough, way tougher than the grocery biz. 😉 I do think it’ll take some adjusting since I do have “my” routines pretty settled by now, you know? Not that I’m complaining at ALL because I’m totally not, change is good, very good and I’m excited at what’s to come down the road for us. It should be interesting. 🙂

  2. Scott will be just fine – I know it – and WAY better off somewhere where he is fully valued. I’m still pissed that they could even consider him for the layoff – like I said, best decision he ever DIDN’T make, and best thing to happen to him, and you, and for your marriage. It will bring you two to a whole new level and I’m excited to see where it leads him, and you, collectively. XO sis (and Scott!).

    • Thanks Jo, you’ve been so great and so cute about the whole thing, totally put your “overprotective sister-in-law pants” on and it’s been awesome. Scott has totally appreciated it too…and the Seven Deadly ZIns you brought him 😉

      • XO, of course…he’s a brother to me and treats you so well, how could I not have the angry sister-bear pants on? 😉 And yeah, any reason for some good zin, I’m all over it, clearly.

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the layoff. I’m glad you are recognizing the positives in the situation and trusting in the Lord. That is all we can do in situations like these.

  4. My dad was laid off over a year ago and it was a similar story. He was treated like crap for many, many years, but he put up with it and wore a smile. He still doesn’t have a job b/c it’s so hard when you’re his age to get hired. Anyway, I’m so sorry to hear that your husband was laid off, but I’m happy to hear that you’re looking at the bright side. Everything happens for a reason and God never gives us something we can’t handle. Yall will make it through this beautifully!

  5. I am so sorry to hear about his lay off. It’s unfortunate when people give everything they got FOR SO LONG and then poof! It’s all over.

    You sound to be in great spirits about it. Give it time and all will work out in the wash.

  6. Pingback: “IF on Top of the World” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Oh my gosh, girl…I am so, so sorry. I work for a company that has laid off over 2,000 employees in the last 2 years (only in my state of Indiana), and I can tell you that most of those people have gone on to find something bigger and/or better. I’m glad you are looking on the positive side, and I know you will be okay in this!

  8. Pingback: One thing I can always count on… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: Getting re-inspired « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: No limits, new molds | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

