“IF on Top of the World”

“IF on Top of the World.”

I read this quote from a recent Jillian Michaels interview in Women’s Health and it totally spoke to me at just the right moment.

For context, this is what the quote was in reference to, from the article:

“As the interview dies down, Jillian points to a painting she recently acquired: an Ed Ruscha made just for her. A big IF sits atop a half dome, against an orange backdrop. ‘It’s called If on Top of the World,’ she said. ‘It’s all about possibility.'”

Possibility. Dreams to be fulfilled. The unanticipated.The unknown.

These are thoughts rolling around in my head as Scott and I embark on the next phase of our lives together. I truly and firmly believe his layoff was for a specific and very distinct purpose.

Yes, it sucks in the short-term and is a little bit scary, indeed.

But, God never gives us more than we can handle (thanks for that reminder, Em!).

I am a big believer in that and am trying so hard to harness that feeling, to find the strength I need to have to help Scott, support him throughout this next step. I know he’s a little bit more scared than he’ll let on to me. I also know he’s prideful – and it’s gotten to him a bit that he’s “starting over.”

Though – to me, he’s not starting over at all. Quite the opposite, actually. He’s about to stumble into greatness. Not just stumble into it, but embrace greatness.

IF on Top of the World.

The possibilities are endless.

And I’m really excited to join the ride to see where it takes us. I just might like what’s around the bend, I have a feeling.

***

The purpose of this post tonight? To get all the thoughts in my head down on paper so they made sense…I knew there was a reason for my slight freak out tonight for no apparent reason. My brain was telling me to slow down, stop, think, listen.

Ah, this feels much better.

Thanks for listening. 😉 I’ll be back to normal “programming” tomorrow, promise.

5 thoughts on ““IF on Top of the World”

  1. great post sis – and message. And, Scott will get through this, and so will you, together. you are strong together, nothing can stop you, nothing can break either of you. It will take some time to process, pick himself up, dust himself off and then realize that he IS better off and this is the best thing that could have happened. As hard as it may be to move on and to change routine 100%, it will be a change for the best. XO.

  2. Hey girl – I know that there are some doubts and things might be a bit scary, but it sounds like you have such a great outlook on the situation. I think that’s so important. Scott likely needs your positive vibes. I can imagine how difficult it must be, but like you said, not starting over but starting something new and likely better.

  3. I definitely think you’re right. That your husband was laid off for a reason. Something good will come from it. Whether it’s a lesson learned, a better opportunity that comes along… you will both grow from this and become stronger!! I know this because you have God in your heart and he will take care of you.

  4. I’m sorry to hear about the lay off. You guys sound like you have the right approach to it- something better and more satisfying is just around the corner. I was laid off in Dec ’08 (I work in finance) and I remember going through different stages of emotions- shock, anger, fear, acceptance, etc. People (old co-workers, neighbors, friends, etc) are surprisingly helpful, so hopefully he’ll get a good job w/ better hours in no time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

