Getting re-inspired (again)

A general theme of my blog lately has been about rediscovery – rediscovering my love of fitness and the “why” behind that love. Mostly because I’ve had some ups and downs lately — (admittedly) I haven’t been able to get out of my head and just enjoy the things that I love, not just fitness-wise but in life, generally-speaking, too.

So, I’ve dubbed May as the month where I will get re-inspired. I will find that centeredness I’ve been lacking lately and I will definitely find that perspective that I desperately need a lot more often than not lately. (And, once again, this post is partially inspired by Jo’s recent post on “Losing the ‘me’ in ‘me’” – thanks for being my blogger muse LOL!)

To get the party started, I’m taking stock of the things in my life most recently that have made me most happy, lately (again, fitness-related or otherwise):

  • DOMS – yes, I have them in a major way today, mostly in my chest from an awesome Power workout on Monday.
  • Sweat– for some reason, the more of a sweat-fest my workout is, the better I feel. I’m learning that the amount of sweat produced makes me feel so accomplished – more so than what that darn HR monitor may say for calories burned. If I’m drenched in sweat, it’s been a darn good workout in my book πŸ˜‰
  • Friends – who I love more than anything. Who are there for me at JUST the right time. Who make me feel loved. Who are SO MUCH FUN on bar crawls (and otherwise of course!). Who are like my family.
  • My husband – who I’ve had so much freakin’ fun having around now that he’s officially unemployed. Who knew I’d actually be celebrating that fact but I totally am!! It’s only been a few days and already I’m loving how much more time we have for the little things that we usually have to cram into a much shorter period of time. Even if its just an extra hug after dinner or laying in bed at night talking eachother’s ear off with the lights off before bed.
  • The Auntie Throwdown – I can’t believe I almost left this one off the list ESPECIALLY because my sister found out that she’s having a GIRL!! NOW the throwdown has truly begun – watch out Jo,Β  I’m on a mission to win this throwdown once and for all.

See? When I look at this list – a list I could surely add more to – I realize what a step back to gain perspective really does. It reminds me just how darn good life is, despite the ups and downs. Generally speaking, it’s a damn good life and I’m one lucky chica.

What I also notice? That Kick is nowhere to be found on this list. And, that’s not because I don’t love Kick anymore, I’m just trying not to let it consume my every waking moment because I’ll just get nuts about it and we all know what happens if I go that route.Β  There are, however, lots of Kick-related things coming up in the not-too-distant future, one of which is the video assessment re-tape on Friday night which I’ve purposefully note written about heavily, of late. I’m trying to downplay it in my mind as just another Kick class. I’m hoping this approach works and I can truly knock this version outta the park – no nerves this time, just energy, smiles and lots of hootin’ and hollerin’. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

Cheers to May – my month for re-inspiration. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Getting re-inspired (again)

  1. I think it’s great that you’re putting things back into perspective like that. I also find it interesting that Kick wasn’t on that list. Does it make it less important? Of course not. In fact, you’ll probably end up enjoying it more that it’s not at the top of the list.

    • oh so wise you are, Heather! It’s true, I think not making it the one thing that’s on my mind ALL THE TIME might actually work in my favor. Let’s hope so anyway! πŸ˜‰

  2. Love this for a few reasons – 1) I AM your blog muse – um, clearly, so glad you recognize that (LOL), 2) embracing Scott’s “time off” is just awesome. Hell, I’m enjoying it too haha! 3) auntie throwdown has been broughten (LOL) so uh, bring it!!

    • Yeah, yeah Jo – you just looove claiming credit for things so I knew you’d hop all over the muse thing. πŸ˜‰ I’m kidding, sorta kinda. HA! Bring it ON!!

  3. Congrats on finding out that you are getting a niece – it’s so much fun shopping for little girl clothes. πŸ™‚

    • Liz- seriously so excited about having a niece! I would’ve loved a nephew too but you’re right, dressing up a little girl is going to be SUCH fun!

      Jo – isn’t it funny how listing out happy thoughts makes all the difference in the world sometimes? Who knew it could be that simple?

      Jeannine – DUH why didn’t I think of that?? You are RIGHT, I am going to ROCK it on Friday in your honor. mwah πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: Touched and inspired… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  5. You DO have lots of things to get pumped up for! First of all, congrats on finding out that you’re having a NIECE! I just adore my nieces. And let’s be honest, the clothes are more fun to buy. πŸ™‚

    And I love how you found things that make you happy that don’t involved Kick – I’ve tried to do the same with running. Yes, it will always be my first love, but there are plenty of other things out there that can make me/you happy, right?? Loved this, girl!

  6. Great list! I think it’s good that your list doesn’t involved Kick. That doesn’t mean that you don’t like it, but it means that you recognize that there are lots of other important things in your life too.

Leave a Reply

