Everything happens for a reason…

…right?

I bring this up after having a convo with a work friend at lunch yesterday (this one’s for you, schmoopie!) who was saying that she wasn’t sure if she believed in the “everything happens for a reason” mantra but her mom was all about it lately. I told her how firmly I believed in that mantra…which I do…but it got me thinking.

I’m still in that wondering and what-if-ing mode, doing lots and lots of thinking these days. But yet, I still haven’t come up with the right answers for some things…case in point:

Why didn’t I get “my” Kick class? (I didn’t know it then – but now I do – so I could focus on my half marathon training! Well, would you look at that? Totally makes sense)

Why did my sister have to go through the most difficult and heartbreaking of things – a divorce – all before turning 30? (I struggled with this for such a long time but it’s so clear to me now – because it’s allowed her to figure out who she really is. She now knows exactly who she is, what she wants out of life,  for the most part – I mean, do any of us *really* know??; and she oozes confidence like I’ve never seen from her before.)

Why did my husband get laid off after dedicating 16 years to the same company, never once complaining, always giving 150% and working as hard and as long as possible, no matter the impact on work/life balance?

THIS is the one I’m struggling with. And not in the way that you’d think, either. I struggle with it, less so from the “why” perspective but more so from the “why NOW” perspective? There is DEFINITELY a reason for it – but it boggles my mind as to why now.

Because, I’ll be damned – there IS a reason for it, everything does happen for  a reason – and typically for a very good reason as you see from my examples above.

So – for now, I’ll go back to my thinking, mulling, wondering – why now? Why us? Is this the “dare to be great moment” that we’ve been waiting for?

This post brought to you by Overthinkers Anonymous, I hope you enjoyed it. 😉

*****
In other blogging news – please root me, my sis and Steph on as we hope to conquer our longest run yet in preparation for the Wicked Half in September. We’ve been giving eachother pep talks all day today, hopefully we won’t need it tomorrow!

And finally – I’m still looking for at least one more guest blogger for the week I’m on vacation. I’m waiiiiting for you. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Everything happens for a reason…

  1. I think it would be fun to be a guest blogger for you! I’ve been meaning to post about the Insanity DVD workouts indepth, if you wouldn’t mind 😀

  2. I think it would be fun to be a guest blogger for you! I’ve been meaning to post about the Insanity DVD workouts indepth, if you wouldn’t mind 😀

  3. I totally believe in “Everything happens for a reason…” It’s ALWAYS been true in my life. Anything that I’ve struggled with or celebrated in my life has most definitely been for a reason. I might not understand it at the time, but with patience and understanding, God always reveals himself to me.

  4. aw, thanks for the shout-out sis….and you are right, everything DOES happen for a reason…all of what you say is purposeful and when you think that way, it’s freeing, isn’t it? And yay for long runs…let’s rock it!

  5. Interesting. Thank you for giving me one more thing to think about. I seriously needed that 😉 I often say that everything happens for a reason, but I’m not so certain I truly believe it. Perhaps it’s really more about how WE choose to handle the situation. If we turn it around then it obviously seems to have happened for a reason. Does that makes sense?

  6. Pingback: Feeling blessed. « To Be Determined

  7. I’m a firm believer too, and as we’ve discussed before, I know why your hubbie got laid off now… it’s a kick in the pants, you are just in denial. 🙂 Live out your dream girlfriend. Don’t let ANYTHING get in the way…

Leave a Reply

