That thing called faith…

So y’know that thing called faith I’m always talking about?

Yeah, I saw and felt it in action this week in a big way.

My father-in-law – who I love as a “second” father figure in my life – is in the hospital, has been there since early yesterday, even spending some of that time in the ICU (I’ll leave the details of “what” ails him out, for obvious reason).

And I’ve been worried sick. Praying like crazy. Soliciting any and all thoughts, prayers, good vibes and anything else I could think of that would make their way to him. Last night, I saw that faith in action. After going through a few rough patches before they transferred him to a better hospital in Boston, by late last night he was doing world’s better. Like night and day. And all I could do was say “thank you.” “Thank you” to friends, family, colleagues,  andblog friends (Heather, you are amazing, just had to say that) for praying right along with me because I firmly believe it made all the difference last night.

Now if only that would transfer to my husband who is still worried sick – even though his dad is surrounded by the best doctor’s in the world – he feels helpless. I can’t blame him for that. He has a special bond with his dad, as the youngest of four, his dad always took him under his wing just a smidge more than the others. And, as a result, Scott is such his father’s son – he worries like him, he has a fierce commitment to his family like him, he has a heart of gold like him, and a sense of duty like him, something I’ve never, ever seen before in anyone in my life before I met and married into a pretty amazing family.

So – to say that I’m thankful and grateful and faithful is an understatement. I am still saying prayers and relying on my faith that the doctor’s will figure out what’s wrong and will fix it. My father-in-law is a trooper and as stubborn as hell (perhaps even more stubborn than me, but that’s debatable!) so I know full-well that he will work hard to recover as quickly as he can. Besides, he can’t stand everyone worrying over him, peering in at him in the hospital like that. So I know he’ll be home very soon.

It’s amazing what something like this does for perspective. Really brings to light what’s most important in life. It’s not that impending deadline at work. It’s not those nagging bills sitting in the mailbox waiting to be paid. It’s sure as hell  not how many calories you burned at your last workout!

What IS important?

Family.

Friends (and friends who are like family – you know who you are…)

Love.

Faith.

18 thoughts on “That thing called faith…

  1. Jess, tears have filled my eyes. I’ll be praying for your father-in-law. He is lucky to have a great son and “daughter” that love him. Please give us an update on his condition asap. L.

  2. My prayers are with you and your family! Scary how fast things can happen to the ones we love. This reminds to not take anyone for granted. Faith is a pretty amazing thing!

  3. Love this sis – so much and on so many levels. I was actually struck by how strongly it was even affecting me yesterday…he isn’t my father in law, literally, but he feels like he is, because he – and your mother in law – have been AMAZING to me, and I was so sad to think about it, and knowing how this was tearing apart Scott and your sister and brothers in law…and I guess I see them much more as an extension of my family than I realized. And that actually makes me really happy. XO sis. and more prayers tonight.

    • XO sis…this brought me to tears, obviously. You are a Sutera through and through, even if not by name. 🙂 They love you as one of their own – another reason they are so amazing, how they’ve taken you under their wing. Love that.

  4. My thoughts and best wishes are with you and Scott and the rest of your amazing family! I hope your father-in-law gets well soon. But with the support of such a loving family I’m sure he will. Keep us updated. We’re all with you!
    BTW: You are so right with all you said about the perspective. We worrying about silly things far too much until something really serious happens.

  5. I’m so glad to hear there was a turnaround. I hope and pray things will continue to get better. You are such a strong woman and I know your husband must have been grateful to have you by his side and on your knees during that time.

  6. Oh my gosh, I am so sorry to hear this….I just said a prayer for your father-in-law right now, and I hope he gets to come home very soon. My dad is the same way and doesn’t like it when people worry about him…which is hard for us worriers who care. 😉 One thing is for sure – he is so very lucky to have you and Scott in his life, there supporting him. Please keep us posted….and we will all keep praying!

  7. Pingback: Annnnd cue “exhale” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Sometimes “thank you” is all it takes « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: Love, faith, believing « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

