Desperately seeking…

…focus.

…more hours in the day.

…inspiration.

…Me.

Yup, you guessed it – based on my lack of posts with regular consistency as well as my lack of commenting to all of your fantastic bloggy thoughts, I’m struggling.

My sister alluded to a portion of what’s got me in such a funk on her blog last night – it so very closely ties to a lot of things that have me scattered, and I’ll leave it at that.

My sister is also responsible for trying to drag me out of this funk by re-forwarding to me a Joel Osteen daily inspirational I forwarded to HER a few weeks ago when she was looking for that inspiration. Of course, it struck me, as it normally does:

In the same way, God doesn’t give us grace for a year at a time or even a month at a time. No, every 24 hours God has a fresh, new supply of grace, favor, wisdom and forgiveness. How are you going to make it through the seasons of your life? One day at a time. Look for His grace today. Look for His provision today. Look for His hand of favor and blessing today because He promises to supply everything you need for today.

One day at a time, or in my case today, one hour at a time. <exhale>

In addition to these words of inspiration (much-needed!), I also got to thinking this morning mid-workout, yet another reason to add to my ever-growing list of reasons for why AM workouts are the way to go, at least for me (as if I needed more ammo for that argument, right??):

I was laying in bed this morning contemplating skipping my workout when my mind automatically went into hyperdrive, thinking about everything onΒ  my to-do list today, tomorrow, the next day, and so on.Β  Resisting the urge for more zzzs, I forced myself up and into my gym upstairs to get a weight workout in before heading to the office, and even though I was still scattered, brain going a mile a minute, somehow the lifting and lowering of the weights had a calming effect. Helped me to zone in and out as need be, the cadence of those weights still lingering in my mind as I type this.Β  Amidst the sweat, the struggle (at times) of lifting those weights this morning, it set me straight for the day. Even though I still can’t shake the “un-ME” feeling, I’m at least a wee bit more focused than if I’d stayed under the covers this AM.

So – the upside in all of the chaos that has been surrounding me of late? At least my workouts aren’t suffering. πŸ˜‰ It’s the little things…

12 thoughts on “Desperately seeking…

  1. Sometimes it’s the consistency factor of our workouts that help keep us grounded. It’s hard to think about all the other crap when you’re focused on lifting that weight or not falling over a step πŸ˜‰ Seriously, all you can do is take it all one thing at a time. Just keep finding all the positives too, they’re there.

  2. Jess, I enjoyed that quote. Thank you for sharing and I might repost that on my Facebook Page at some point with your permission.

    Life can be hectic and mind-boggling. I hope whatever difficulty you are experiencing now will get better with time.

    Everything you write about your love of fitness (and your dedication to it) is so inspirational. As someone that has a sports-related injury, I find the way you write about exercise cathartic. So thank you for that.

    Keep up with your blog! I’ve missed it over the last weeks.

    • You are sweet, Lisa. This blog is so cathartic for me in so many ways, so sometimes I use it as an outlet to simply “blog it out” which today’s post was an exercise in. Sometimes I just need to get whatever is in my head OUT of my head so I can clear it. If that makes any sense whatsoever.

  3. I hope you get out of your funk soon…I know, I’ve been there recently, and it can be pretty overwhelming. But you are dead on to focus on the positive, focus on your upcoming 1/2 (which you’re going to kill!), and all of the things your body can do. Sometimes if I focus on the physical things I can do, I think it allows my head to follow suite, if that makes sense?? Thinking of you, girl!

    • Thank you my dear, you’re the sweetest. And dead-on re: focusing on the physical stuff that I can conquer versus letting all the “other” junk clutter my mind. It’s just not worth it in the grand scheme of things, huh?

  4. So sorry that you’re in a funk right now. Just remember, as women, we can ALL relate… You’ll come out of this soon and in the meantime I’m so proud of you for focusing on positive things in your life right now.

  5. Pingback: “Laugh everyday…it’s like inner jogging” « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

