5 weeks and counting…

…the Wicked Half.

Yup, it just dawned on me today that, um, yeah, I have a mere FIVE weeks until the half is upon me.

And guess what?

I AM SO EXCITED!

Not afraid.

Not nervous.

Just damn excited.

I am feeling so good about our progress – yes, we still have a way’s to go – but we’re chugging along just fine.

For the most part (had to throw that caveat in there for those days when I can’t even fathom throwing my jogging shorts on and heading out for a run), I’ve really enjoyed our training runs. Partly because many of them have been early-AM runs with Scott before I head to work and it’s quite honestly one of the best parts of my day. It sets the right cadence for the day ahead, and even when that day doesn’t go as I envision it going in my head as I pound the pavement, at least I started out with the best of intentions, right? πŸ˜‰

The other reason I’ve enjoyed them? The running we’ve been doing together – the “wicked half” crew as I like to call us, for lack of a better term. Along with Scott, Jo and fellow kicker Steph, we’ve done a few group training runs – those have been our lonnnng runs but it’s been such fun to accomplish those distances together. Quite the bonding experience, which I’ve loved and I know they have too. I feel so freakin’ lucky to have such a great group of friends and family that share the same passion as me, it makes such a difference. And I love it.

What I’ve learned so far in all of this? That I am, without a shadow of a doubt…

…a runner.

And I wear that label proudly. Because it does not and will never come easily to me. But that’s ok. It’s what makes me the runner that I am. I’m feeling more and more “ready” for that starting line as I hoped I would be when I first started my training. And, I’m totally envisioning crossing that finish line feeling pretty confident that I will burst into tears at the end. That much you can guarantee.

So anyway, that’s where I am and I’m psyched. The one piece we still have to figure out? What we want our tank tops to say on race day. So, I’m leaving that in your capable hands while I take some time off to head to lake again (yes, I *do* bank my vaca time to take advantage of that lake all summer!). So please don’t fail me now – send me your ideas for mantras or slogans or even team names. I’m all ears. πŸ™‚

See ya’ll on the flip side! Don’t forget about me!

15 thoughts on “5 weeks and counting…

  1. You should be feeling great about your progress. I’m totally impressed! Wish I could be there to watch you cross the finish line. I personally like my “Will Run for Beer” shirt but you could go for chocolate or wine. Is that really appropriate? LOL. Oh: Crazy. Strong. And Running.

    • I know, I would LOVE to see your smiling face when I cross that finish line in tears!! Don’t worry, there will be lots of pics, I promise. πŸ™‚ Ah – I DO love the Crazy, Strong and Running idea!!! What a great one – in pink, of course. πŸ˜‰

  2. Holy sh^T 5 weeks! It scares me, but I know we can do it. We’ve made it to 10 miles, that’s the hardest part, I think. Just gotta stay “out of our heads” and we’ll do it!!

  3. Sounds great! Only 7 weeks left until my next half marathon. And I still don’t feel as confident as I was before my first one in May. Maybe it’s because I know now how long 21.1 kilometres can be πŸ˜‰
    How about a play with words for your shirts like “We’re running out of time”, “We keep things running”, “Runny noses” etc.
    But to be honest I like the “Running for wine” best πŸ˜‰ (What a surprise!)

    PS: You won’t burst into tears! After crossing the finish line the best thing is taking off your shoes and having an alc free (!) beer! Feels like heaven!

    • Ha, Julia. You are so funny – and I bet you will totally rock your SECOND half marathon. I bow to you! Doing one so close to the last one, you are nuts! πŸ™‚

      I still think I may cry just from the sheer joy of getting it done…13.1 miles felt so insurmountable when I first signed up for the race, but somehow it doesn’t seem THAT bad now, I mean, it’ll be ridiculously hard but I can at least envision myself completing the race at least πŸ˜‰

  4. I am so happy to be part of the Wicked Half Crew!! Love our training runs..especially to singing beach, it’s been so great seeing the ocean at the halfway point. And the water cooler on the way helps as well LOL. We are totally going to rock this run!! Love you guys!!

  5. YES! You most DEFinitely are a runner – no doubt about it!! What a neat experience to go through this with your loved ones, too. I never really had people to train with, and I really miss/regret that! You are going to KILL this race – I’m beyond pumped for you, girl. πŸ™‚

    Hmmm……slogans and mantras. I LOVE this kind of thing. πŸ™‚ My mind is blanking right now, though! Let me think about this some more…..what a great idea for you to put them on tank tops!

  6. How about “Yes, I’m a runner”. This seems to be your mantra when I think about your recent posts about running and what should be a better slogan for your shirt then?

  7. Pingback: A “wicked” three weeks « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

