What would you do if…

…you suddenly found yourself physically unable to do something you’d grown so accustomed to doing that it became second nature, ingrained in your being, a part of who you are and suddenly that ability was taken away from you?

THAT, my friends, is how I’m looking at the question that Tina posted for today’s 30 Days of Self-Love series.

Her post on body “gifts” struck a chord with me in a big way. She’s right – we don’t value our bodies enough for the gifts it gives us every single day. Gifts that not everyone on this earth has been blessed with. Able bodies that we truly do take for granted.

The ability to walk, to run, to leap, to bound.

The ability to strengthen and tone our muscles.

The ability to see with our own two eyes the changes in our body – changes from new workout regimes, changes from growing a baby (as Tina is right now, or as my sister is growing my niece right now!)…

Tina challenged those following the 30 days to think about what it is about their bodies that they love, what gifts they’ve been given do they truly cherish if they really sat back and thought about it.

I’ll share my comment I posted for Tina on her blog here, with a couple of additional “loves” added at the bottom:

I thank my legs for carrying me through countless workouts and for those legs that will help me cross that half marathon finish line. I am eternally grateful for good health and an able body to tackle such challenges every single day.

I thank my arms for being able to give hugs that show how much I love my husband, my sisters, my friends.

I thank my eyes for being able to see the sun rise and fall every single day and for seeing the smiling eyes of my husband who I love very much.

I thank my heart for keeping me going through tough workouts, for allowing me to push myself harder than ever, and enjoying an active, energetic lifestyle, and for the love it pours out for my loved ones around me.

I urge you to follow this movement if you can, even if you just start by listing the things that you love about your body, the body gifts you are grateful for everyday (or will be more grateful for now that you’ve sat back to really think about it).

7 thoughts on “What would you do if…

  1. I just love Tina and her 30 Days movement. What a beautiful idea! πŸ™‚ I also thanked my legs. I was (sometimes still am) very critical of my thighs. They have always been bigger – even at my skinniest, that’s where my fat liked to be. But after hearing about a girl I knew who is paralyzed and will never walk again, I try to always remember her and the struggles that she goes through. I know she would do anything for my legs – chubby or not. I need to love them because they are such a gift that should never be taken for granted.

  2. Beautiful post. I agree that we have so many blessings in what our bodies can do and should never take for granted the things others may not have. πŸ™‚ I’m going to link to this post tomorrow!

  3. Pingback: FAITH, FITNESS, FUN » Blog Archive » 30 days of self love – intrinsic beauty

Leave a Reply

