A “wicked” three weeks

How did that happen?!

In just under three weeks, I’ll be running the Wicked Half (along with Scott, my sis Jo and fab friend Steph).

And you know what? As the days tick on by, I’m feeling more and more ready for the big day. I know I blogged about this a couple weeks ago but the closer we get to race day, the more excited I am to be thisclose to running my first-ever half marathon. Damn will it feel good to cross that off the good ‘ol bucket list!!

So – what am I doing to prepare? Well, let me tell you. πŸ™‚

Yesterday – we ran another long 10 miler. And get this – I’m running it more efficiently based on my calorie burn yesterday vs. previous 10 milers. Who knew that I could run TEN MILES more efficiently?? I never thought I’d see the day, honestly. So that in and of itself is a major accomplishment to me.

Later this week, we’re running a shorter 6 miler together and then Saturday is a big day. It’s our first long(er) run than we’ve been doing the past few weeks. Figured it was time since we’re running the 10 with much more ease (relatively speaking!) than when we first ran it. Definitely time to up that mileage.

12 miles you say? Umm, ok.Β  Now or never, right?

Next week – we’re aiming for a 5, 7 and 12 miler again and the week just prior to the race we’ll ease up big time.

Now that I’m writing this all down I’m realizing that we’re just TWO long runs away from the Wicked Half. AHHH!!

Seriously though, I’m so excited that it’s finally almost here. I am so damn proud of how far we’ve come so far and cannot stop visualizing the euphoria we’ll all feel the second we cross that finish line. I literally get goosebumps everytime I think about that moment.

I’m ready.

Scratch that – WE are ready.

The only thing missing? Our race day shirts – we are way behind on getting our act together on that but are hoping to still get ‘er done.

Thinking the motto will be:

Crazy, Strong, and Running. (thanks Heather for the idea!!) and/or “Does this shirt make my butt look faster?”

11 thoughts on “A “wicked” three weeks

  1. You are definitely ready. I’ve run several half marathons with my longest run topping out at 10 miles (one time). If you’ve already done more than one 10, you are definitely ready.

    • Seriously, you made my day with that comment, Lee. I really can’t believe I’m saying this but I FEEL ready. Let’s hope I can say that with confidence after our longest run yet on Saturday πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Help! I’ve been Scott-napped! « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

