Blogger brunch meet-up in Beantown

I have to say – one of the best things about blogging has been meeting some pretty amazing, incredible, inspiration, and fun bloggers in the almost year since I started this blog adventure.

I’ve met some super-fun, equally-in-love-with running blogger friends like Naomi – she was my first blog friend I’d ever met in person, in fact! And there’s a chance we might get to meet up again when I’m back in SF at the end of this month for what I know is going to be an EPIC return to Sonoma and SF for my birthday and other shenanigans (more on that in a future post, promise).

I’ve met one blog friend who I totally qualifies as a sister in a previous life – we are so alike, like whoa, in so many ways, its seriously scary. I’ve learned so much from her and I hope she’s learned a thing or two for me. We finally met at the fanfrickintastic Cathe Road Trip weekend in July of this year – ahh Heather, how I miss you so. πŸ˜‰

And – this past weekend, I had the pleasure of finally meeting Alicia at Poise in Parma and Elina at Healthy and Sane. Alicia and I have been chatting about getting together ever since she booked her trip to Boston to visit family awhile back – and Elina? Well, let’s just say it’s a shame we didn’t get together sooner since she, um, LIVES in Boston anyway!!

We ended up meeting at Brasserie Jo in Boston which was a great spot for brunch – nice atmosphere, great menu, and a GORGEOUS late-summer day in the city. Once we settled in, the chatter was non-stop which was a relief. I always worry when I meet someone for the first time face-to-face that conversation won’t flow and we’ll have lots of awkward silences. There was none of that at our table.

We talked about everything from…

Why we blog, or started blogging

What we love about blogging. Things we’ve learned. About ourselves. About others.

That thing called “dieting” and calorie counting and why we’ve all learned how to cope with no longer tying ourselves so tightly to numbers and how that’s effected us each in very different ways.

How great it is to meet people “like us” who “get” why we like to eat the way we do, workout the way we do, or blog it up like crazy like we do. We lamented at how funny it is that some of our IRL friends and colleagues still don’t “get” that about us, but meeting up with bloggers can be so great for that very reason. So neat that they both agreed with me on that one. πŸ˜‰

Of course, those are just snippets to our conversation – there was plenty more. In all, though, meeting up with Alicia and Elina was so refreshing. It’s so great to be able to connect about the very same things we each blog about all the time and be able to talk about it in much more depth that you could ever get across in a blog post, a blog comment, a tweet or an email on the side. Don’t get me wrong – you can accomplish a lot and learn a lot in this digital world we live in, but nothing compares to a face-to-face conversation, especially when that conversation is done over a yummy egg white omelette with fresh veggies, a bloody mary, andΒ  fresh brewed coffee. πŸ˜‰

Here’s a quick pic from our meet-up – thankfully our waiter was overly gracious in taking this pic for us, onsidering they were also hosting a wedding brunch nearby which was hogging most of his attention and focus (and the smoked salmon I was hoping for on my omelette – no dice on that one, sadly).

Anyway – thank you again Alicia and Elina, I had such fun and can’t wait to meet up wtih ya’ll again soon (Elina – no excuses since we live so close by!!)

8 thoughts on “Blogger brunch meet-up in Beantown

  1. Oh yay on the brunch blogger meet up! So jealous and I miss you too girl!! And of course I’ve learned from you too πŸ˜‰ It’s almost hard to describe to non-bloggers what it means to “know” other bloggers and then to meet them. We share soooo much through our blogs and get to know each other in ways that we don’t often know IRL friends – it’s so strange and something I never in a million years expected.

  2. That is why I LOVE meeting up with other healthy living bloggers. We have all had such similar feelings and experiences and it’s like we INSTANTLY “get” each other. I only wish I could meet up with you!!!!! I know we’d talk for hours and hours!! πŸ™‚

  3. I was so giddy to meet you gals that morning! Your recap is dead on. I felt so comfortable chatting with you. I felt like we were three old friends – you know the type, that can not see each other for awhile, then get together and talk for hours. We definitely “got” each other, that’s for sure!

    I can’t thank you enough for taking the time out of your holiday weekend to sneak me in for a great breakfast!

    • That’s exactly how I felt too Alicia! It was sooo like catching up with old friends – I am so glad you came up this way and thought to reach out to set up this little blogger date of ours. Come back soon!! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: A Very Blogger Boston Vacation « poise in parma

  5. Pingback: On this day, one year ago… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

