Reason #453 why I heart morning workouts

Reason #453: There are FAR fewer reasons to miss one than there are at night.

No happy hour plans to entice you away from your workout plans.

No errands or appointments that need to be taken care of after work.

And <ahem>

No late nights at work to keep you from your planned half marathon training run.

Yes – I skipped the AM workout today after my neighbors so rudely awoke me from a lovely night’s sleep with the grand idea that fireworks were a good idea at that hour of the night (really?!?!). Plus, I’m dragging from that favorite “time” us women sooo look forward to each month.

Of course – I had the best laid plans in mind for tonight. Leave work right on time. Scoot home to meet Scott for a 4 or 5 mile run, and be ready to go for our lonnnng run planned for Saturday (12 miles, go big or go home!). Yes – that sounded great to me in my head as I drifted back to sleep this morning.

Well – that “leave work right on time part” didn’t quite happen and I certainly didn’t plan for the quasi-migraine that hit right at the end of the day either. <quick someone call the wahhhhhbulance!!>

So anyway, I’m being all Negative Nelly over here but I’m seriously bummed that I missed out on tonight’s run. It’s a gorgeous cool evening here in Boston and I miss running – it’s been since MONDAY since we ran last and I’m dying for a taste of that runner’s high I love so very much.

To make up for it, I’ve decided to get up a bit earlier tomorrow, get my weight workout in that I’d planned already for tomorrow (Cathe’s Pyramid Upper Body – one of my faves!) and then go on a short run with Scott before tearing through a busy, meeting-heavy day at the office in the hopes of welcoming Friday night with open arms.

That’s the plan anyway, let’s hope this one sticks. 😉

Disclaimer: Dear blog friends, thank you for letting me use my blog tonight as a total bitch-fest. I really appreciate it. Signed, me. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Reason #453 why I heart morning workouts

  1. haha. I like how you ended it. We all need the blog as a sounding board for frustrated feelings sometimes…just like I did last night. 🙂 Sorry you missed your run, but you’ll make it up.

  2. Oh puh-lease, that SO wasn’t a bitchfest 😉 It was justifying a perfectly acceptable reason NOT to work out! I think you should keep to the balance mantra and just do what you can tomorrow and not worry so much. We have an effing 12 miler on Saturday – that is TWO LONG ASS RUNS in one week. Mmk? P-ERSPECTIVE! 🙂

  3. Oh, sorry on the missed workout. Sometimes sleep is a must – especially that time right? I think happy hours should sometimes trump workouts too 😉 I have NOT been able to get my butt out of bed for the past 2 wks for an early morning workout. I seriously think part of it is the time deal – dark so late in the mornings. I won’t say relax and roll with the flow b/c that’s totally going to be hypocritical on my part LOL. But you’ll get it done, I know you 😉

    Oh, and have to agree with Jo – NOT a bitch fest. You girls have NO idea how to just bitch do you??? LOL

    • Haha, thank you for refraining from telling me to relax and go with the flow – because you KNOW I’m not so good at that, better than I used to be but still not great. 😉 I’ve also decided to make a concerted effort to be a better bitch-fester because clearly I’ve failed miserably at it this time around heh

  4. Wasn’t that you who told me about 48 hours ago that “work is there in the morning”? Shame on you for not leaving work in time 🙂
    Just kidding – I know exactly what you’re talking about. And to be honest: If your body needs a rest (headache or whatever) give it a rest. We should all start listening to ourselves more carefully.
    Have a wonderful late-summer-early-autumn-pre-race weekend!

  5. Pingback: A fine line « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

