Holy 12(.4) miles

Yes, folks – the longest half marathon training run yet is on the books.

I actually meant to write this post yesterday after the run but was honestly SO pooped that it was all I could do not to fall asleep on the couch while watching football with some of my favorites.  Good thing there was plenty of food and wine to be had, it sure kept me occupied (and fully satisfied after burning all those calories!) all afternoon long.

But I digress…about the run:

  • It felt a lot longer than I anticipated – which makes me think our “quasi-10 miler” was a lot closer to 9 than 10.  Essentially, I ran about 3.5  miles longer than my longest run to date. Oy.
  • My knees felt it the most versus the rest of me – I felt fine cardio-wise and endurance-wise, it was the aches in my knees that got me towards the last third of the run.
  • My husband is a damn good cheerleader, got me through the toughest part of the run which was probably around mile 10 or so, once I got past that hump, I felt much better since I knew it would be over pretty soon.

So what have I learned from this experience? That I can TOTALLY run .7 more miles to get to the half marathon mark. I mean, what’s that really in the grand scheme of things, right?? I’ve also learned that I’m stronger than I’ve perhaps given myself credit for, mentally too. I never really got to the point of hitting the “wall” that I fear so much. I did get to a point here and there where I thought that the run back would take eons, but like I said, I got passed it pretty quickly, largely thanks to Scott, I have to say. 🙂

So what’s on tap, training wise for the next two weeks until race day? A couple of shorter runs this week (between 5-7 miles) and another 12.4 on Saturday since my sis has yet to run that route yet. I think doing it once more, together with the rest of us wicked half-ers will give us the confidence that we’re going to ROCK the half together which I’m so excited about. Once we get to race day week-of I plan to run only once, maybe twice, at most before the big day. I cannot BELIEVE it’s now less than two weeks away!!!!

11 thoughts on “Holy 12(.4) miles

    • Aw! Thanks for being such a cheerleader for me!!! Though I seriously have no idea how anyone manages 26.2, that’s crazy talk 😉 But then, I thought that about the 13.1 when I first started training so I guess anything is possible, huh??

  1. You ROCK!! You totally got this one in the bag! 😉 I cannot believe your 1/2 is so close….it always seemed so far away, since I am in a wedding the following weekend! You are so prepared for this, and have such a great support system. You know you can do it now, and so now all you get to do is go out there and have some fun!

  2. Make sure you’re doing extra stretching right now to take care of those knees and your IT Band. I’m sure you know all that, but I feel compelled to say it after the awful knee pain I got while training for my last 1/2 marathon. I ended up dropping out of the race at mile 4 b/c it was so bad. So take care and ice if needed!! You’re doing great!!!!!! 🙂

    • Ahh you are such a “mom” in training, I love it. BUT you are right, I haven’t been stretching and rolling and I KNOW I need to. My knees still hurt today, especially the right one which was a problem for me last summer. So I need to listen and do that asap or I’ll have trouble in two weeks when the half arrives!!

Leave a Reply

