A word about joy

Once again, Tina‘s 30 day’s message smacked me in the face – I don’t know why or how, but her messages have been spot-on for me in so many ways lately so I hope you don’t mind that I’ve been blogging about it here and there.

Her post was about Joy – and finding it within you versus relying on circumstances to create joy. And boy, do I need to take a page from Tina’s book lately as I struggle to find joy in every single day, not just the “high’s” in life like overcoming obstacles or counting down the days until a vacation or another important “life event” of sorts.

I’ve blogged about this in the past – mostly because it’s something that Joel Osteen is always talking about in terms of not letting others in life “steal” your joy from you, because all that accomplishes is your lost joy, nothing else. The person or “thing” that stole your joy “wins,” essentially. And you know what? I don’t want that person or thing to steal my joy, it’s my joy to keep, dammit!

So, I’m trying once again to have new perspective. To find joy in the little things – not just the big things like being on the verge of conquering the Wicked Half or embarking on an epic return vacation to wine country (though don’t get me wrong, I’m totally jazzed for both of these things, but you know what I mean). Instead, I’m going to try like hell to focus on the little joys in life.

For example –

My “joy” yesterday? Feeling empowered and strong during a really good Group Power class at my gym after work, followed by a sister’s dinner with Jo at her new apartment.

Joy.

My joy today? Choosing to take a much-needed rest day to give my screaming legs one more day to recover before my next round of training runs. That rest day meant an extra hour+ of sleep/snuggling with my husband, under an extra blanket as the cool fall breeze wafted in the bedroom windows.

Joy.

So if I could offer some advice – some advice I am trying like hell to take myself – it would be this. Take one minute out of your day and I can almost guarantee there is joy lurking around the bend, you just have to see that it’s within you.

8 thoughts on “A word about joy

  1. Um, I was totally going to write something similar…in fact, I still may 😉 Love this sis! Last night was fun, not that I didn’t think it would be, but more so than a typical Monday night dinnah!

  2. Glad you liked the post. I think that was my favorite one I’ve written…or at least a tie between my first one on confidence and the one on love from others. It felt more ME. I’m going to talk about that some this afternoon.

  3. Pingback: Finding joy. « To Be Determined

  4. I find joy every day when I get home from work. 🙂 And it’s not because the work day is over. When you become and aunty you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about.

  5. I LOVED Tina’s post, too. I think so many times we look for the “big” things in life to bring us joy – or at least, I do. You know…like big, fun things planned, or job promotions (or changes- haha!), or relationships….but really I think it’s just as important – if not MORE important – to focus on even the “little” things that bring us joy. And there are far many more of the “little” things around us, too. 🙂

    I loved your advice at the end. I am going to take it today!

    • It truly is those little things that get us through rough spots – I’ve made it two days now by citing some “joy” moments I was looking forward to for the day. Made a big difference, who knew?

Leave a Reply

