Friends – they make the world go ’round

I’ve been struck more often than not lately about how great my small circle of friends has become to me

And then it dawned on me just how much my friendships have evolved recently – either growing into stronger, “sister-friendships” or growing apart, as some friendships tend to do over time.

This is actually something that I got to thinking about, in part, after reading Holly’s last post on friendships over at The Balance Broad (and um, if you don’t read her blog regularly, you should – she is a riot, and a genuinely good person, a blog friend I’d LOVE to meet one day soon!).

So friendships – they truly do make the world go ’round.ย  And my friends? Well, they kind of vary in terms of how we became friends, length of friendship, etc., but interestingly enough, they’ve sort of all converged a bit lately, too. And they’re all great, amazing, incredible friendships for very different reasons.

My “girls night” girls are some of the most fun girls around – and they are definitely a mashup of a couple of circles of friends that have morphed into one, cohesive circle of friends over time. It’s great – some of them I’ve known since childhood, others I met at work (only by chance since she was only at the company a short time before leaving) and since developed a super-strong bond with (um, that would be you JL!), and others are friends from college or previous work-born friendships. And it works. Amazingly well.

My Kick friends – I swear, it was like “sleepaway camp” during our Kick training last winter (wow, time flies!!). It was honestly by chance that we even became friends to begin with – prior to Kick training, none of us really even talked to one another at the gym. And then BAM! Enter Kick and a very challenging (physically and mentally) time and we’ve bonded in a major way. We workout together (a LOT), we talk about our workouts, we support eachother during classes eachother teaches, and we try to make dinner plans as often as possible. In particular, my sis and I have formed a super-close bond with Steph over at Daisysunniestephie‘s blog. It’s so funny how it sort of just happend, with absolutely no effort involved. Steph is one of those people that you meet and think wow, she is just a GOOD person. Her husband too. They define “good people” and I love it. I especially love how similar we are in our workout styles, our hatred of rest days and our determination to kick fat-talk to the curb. Case in point – in one of our email exchanges last night, we were lamenting that we were feeling “fat” for one reason or another. I mentioned a project my sister and I try to stick to by giving each other body compliments when we’re starting to feel that fat-talk creep in. So – I promptly told Steph she’s got a nice butt. And she returned the favor – saying I looked great in my jeans the other day. See? It’s the little people but I’m telling you, makes a world of a difference!

And then there are friends that I have never met but feel so close to for no other reason than I get to read about their days, their workouts, their latest recipe concoctions, their deepest thoughts – those are YOU, my bloggy friends. I’m coming up on a year since I started this blog (in Oct) and I cannot believe the awesome friendships that have been born out of this here blog. It’s amazing and, quite honestly, I’d feel like something was missing if I suddenly didn’t have this anymore. Funny how that happens.

So this is a very long way of saying – friends are so important, so special, and I feel so incredibly blessed to have bonded with a pretty fantastic group of girlfriends who I know will always have my back and I’ll always have theirs.

I’ll have to remind Steph of that in just aboutย  a week when we’re kicking off our half marathon in the wee hours of the morning. ๐Ÿ˜‰

**********

Speaking of friends and sister-friends – everyone please send good thoughts my sister Jen‘s way – she’s waiting as patiently as she can for her baby to make her grand entrance and she seems to be taking her sweet ‘ol time. So please – tell Baby N. that it’s time to come out to play! Her aunties are dying to meet her. ๐Ÿ™‚

13 thoughts on “Friends – they make the world go ’round

  1. Friendships have become so much more special to me as I’ve gotten older and have “weeded” out the negative people. I’m much more picky about who I’ll be friends with. I look for people who have kind hearts, do not judge, laugh and try their best to look at things positively. YOU and Holly are just a couple people from the blog world that I would give so much to be able to meet in person!! We would click instantly, I just KNOW it!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so thankful for your friendship!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ems! You are SO on my list to come and visit someday soon – I know we’d have such a blast catching up, gabbing the afternoon away. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m thankful for YOUR friendship too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love it! I have felt so blessed and lucky to be able to become such great friends with the both of you. After college I had mostly lost touch (or relationships just changed) with my close girlfriends. It was about the same time I met George, so that filled the void a bit. But after a while I realized how much I really missed having close girlfriends. It’s those people who you can talk to about nothing and everything that just make life a lot more fun. I’m so happy that Kick brought us together, because now that I know how awesome you two are, I really can’t imagine my life without you both! I can’t believe we haven’t even known each other a year yet. Looking forward to lots more EPIC time together!

    • And THIS is why I heart you, Steph! You are such a good person, and a pretty fantastic friend. Very thankful that Kick brought us together – cheers to lots of epic-ness to come ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Friends really are so important aren’t they? And it’s amazing where you might find them too. There are friendships I’ve had that I thought would be forever, and they aren’t, but then some new ones that I never expected (like you and Jo). My circle is small, and I think that’s b/c I give my all to a friendship.

    • They really are. And I’m totally with you – a smaller, closer circle of friends is far better and more worth investing time into than a friend that’s not nearly as good to you as you are to them. And I know personally that you DO give your all to friendships, it’s what makes you an incredible friend that I’m very glad to know ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you so much for the shout out, Jessica โ€“ you are SO sweet! That completely made my day! And yes, I KNOW for a fact we will meet one day. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Itโ€™s funny how, and I never really thought about it, but I have different groups of friends (for different reasons), too! I used to feel a little guilty about thisโ€ฆlike, I never go โ€œoutโ€ with my โ€œmommy friends,โ€ and I donโ€™t really have some of my โ€œgoing outโ€ friends over for dinner. But I guess Iโ€™m learning itโ€™s okay to have various groups of friends for different reasons. I am just MUCH better about choosing friends who are thoughtful, kind, AND fun โ€“ like you!

    Our friendships change so much as we get older, I think because we change ourselves. I think, hopefully, we realize that we are deserving of the best kind of friends โ€“ just like we all deserve the best guy to treat us right. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m saying a prayer that Baby N. comes quickly! She has all of these people and wonderful aunts to welcome her with open arms. Hopefully (fingers crossed) it will be very, very soon!

    • Ahh! I love that I made your day – it’s the little things, right? Well – the shout-out was well-deserved! And you, my dear, are always so thoughtful with your comments, posts, emails, etc. – you are an awesome friend, even though we have yet to meet. I can tell that you put a ton into your friendships and that is what makes you a good person.

  5. I have such a wide variety of friends too. But they each bring something special. LOVE all my blog friends. I seriously feel insanely close to so many of you and would turn to many of you in a crisis before some of my other friends. No joke!

  6. Pingback: #thelittlethings « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: 2010: In pictures. In a word (or two): damn good. « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

