Running is a priviledge

The following kicks off a series of observations, thoughts, and pep talks as I near the final days leading into the half marathon.

**********

The thought of running as a privilege strikes me. This, on the verge of accomplishing what, for me, is a major accomplishment, something I never thought I’d ever achieve.

A half marathon.

I never thought I’d see my name and “half marathon” in the same sentence. But there you go – it’s there. And I’m thisclose to experiencing what, for some, is not within their reach.

Maybe they were injured when younger and cannot run.

Maybe they lost a leg in an accident…or even battle.

Maybe they are at an age where the strain and stress of running such a distance is much too much for their joints.

Maybe they can’t even walk.

Maybe.

And here I am – strong, fit, able.

I am lucky. Very lucky.

I am privileged.

I do not take it for granted. Not now. Not ever.

This, for me, is much bigger than just knocking off a bucket list item. I feel honored to have had the chance to come this far, push myself beyond my previously defined limits. I am running for me – but also for anyone who is not able to run.

I am thankful.

Thankful for all that I’ve learned in the past few months – about myself, about friendships, about my marriage. Thankful that I am here. This is my moment. This is our moment.

And I am ready.

To do you all proud.

19 thoughts on “Running is a priviledge

  1. Great post! Every year I run in the Peachtree Road Race here in Atlanta and we pass by Shepherd Spinal Center with all of the patients out in their wheelchairs cheering us on, I am reminded of how thankful I am to have the priviledge to run. You have such a kind heart to talk about your deep appreciation of running!! You are an amazing lady!! 🙂

    • Well my friend – I think YOU are pretty amazing, and so kind yourself! Thank you – I’m so glad you can relate. I was thinking about this post on my drive to the gym tonight – as I passed an older man walking slowly on the side of the road, cane in hand. I thought to myself – wow, he struggles to walk down the street, I damn well better appreciate every step of this half on Saturday. I’m lucky. I’ll take that.

    • Thanks sis – definitely something for us to channel when we think our legs won’t carry us any farther, we KNOW they are able to take on the challenge, let’s show ’em who’s boss 🙂

  2. Love this – it’s so much of why I do run. I run b/c I actually can and while I might bitch and moan some days, I always try to remember that I am capable of doing something that some cannot (fore whatever reason). When I run a race that raises money and awareness for an something like breast cancer, I am running for all those who are no longer with us, for those who have survived, for those still battling. I also run for myself – to teach myself that I am stronger than I thought. I know I’ve said it before, but I soooo wish I could be there to watch you guys cross that finish line. So proud!

    • Such a good point, Heather – running with a purpose, especially when its for a good cause, makes it all the more worthwhile. I wish you were gonna be there to see us cross the finish line too!!! Lots of pics, promise!

  3. This is a great post. A recent injury has taught me that running is a privilege! And I miss that privilege. This experience has taught me to value what I CAN do. Everything I’m able to do is a gift now.

    • Great point – and thanks for stopping by. Appreciating what you have, while you still have it, is something we all so easily forget in what is such a fast-paced lifestyle we tend to lead.

  4. Great post! So many times, I personally take my health & youth for granted, as if I have so much time to get back fit and healthy. Going to the gym and getting my numbers yesterday was a real wake-up call that I need to get moving–while I still have mobility & health to do so! Good luck on your half marathon! I’m sure you’ll do well and have a great time!

    • Another great point – forgetting that we only have this one life to live, especially while still “young” is so important to avoid if you can help it. I’m glad you got the needed wake-up call you were looking for – good luck getting moving again, you can do it!!

  5. Pingback: Why I run: revisited « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  6. I love EVERY single thing about this post! I think some runners do forget how priviledged it is to be able to run (injury will remind you of that!). Like last week, I was doing Yoga and a man with one leg came in to take the class. It TRULY reminds us to be thankful, in that moment, for what our bodies can do.

    You will DEFINITELY do us proud, as well as yourself!

  7. Pingback: On listening to your body, and other ramblings « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. I know this is a day late and a dollar short. But I just founf this blog entry because I was trying to find out if my old high school coach got his saying running is a privilege from somewhere.

    I just wanted to tell you not only is your post titled that but you actually posted it on the day of his passing.

    Running is a privilege I just wish I realized it sooner.

Leave a Reply

