I am woman, hear me roar

Ok – I’ll preface this blog post (and in defense of my goofy blog title!) with the fact that I am utterly exausted, leaving me a little bit slap-happy on this fine Wednesday evening. So don’t mind me. πŸ˜‰

Why am I in such a sorry state tonight, you ask?

Well – I got a very big dose of reality last night while watching over my sis (as she continues on her long road of recovery) and my adorable niece Isabel. I spent the night with her, giving her a much-needed rest while Scott and I took turns caring for Isabel, jumpingΒ  (literally) at her every gurgle and coo.

For. The. Entire. Night.

As in one hour of sleep. Tops.

Whoa.

And THIS, my friends, is why being a woman is an amazing thing. (sorry guys – you’re ok too, I swear πŸ˜‰

I can’t even imagine what being a “real” mom is all about – I had one measly night of it and I was floored! (I won’t lie – I was pleasantly surprised that I made it through the work day with *only* one venti from Starbucks – that’s my “usual” order on 7-8 hrs of sleep, mind you. I fully credit being physically fit for helping me to dig deep to get through today, seriously!)

But I digress – being a woman, and a mom…and a wife, and a friend, and a sister, and a…well, you get the picture. It’sΒ  quite simply an incredible feat and I give boat loads of credit to all of you wonderful women out there who are also moms. I have no idea how you do it, I bow down to you!

I will say that, while stunned by how much work (both physical and mental) being a mom is, it really does make me that much more proud to be a woman, and a damn good auntie-in-training, too.

Like I said…I am woman, hear me roar. πŸ˜‰

****And on that note, I promise tomorrow’s post will be far less slap-happy and full of my usual sage advice and words of fitness wisdom…or something like that. πŸ˜‰ ***

12 thoughts on “I am woman, hear me roar

  1. You’re right – it DOES take a strong woman to be all of those things. I came away from my night at Jen’s completely stunned and in awe myself. Being a mom is hard stuff!! Jen’s doing it though…she’s my idol πŸ™‚

  2. You’re such an awesome sister to do that! I would have been up all night too for every single movement. I remember what it was like just being the one to watch over my niece as everyone else moved my sister into their new home. Oddly, me, the non-maternal one, was the only one to get “A” to sleep and stay that way. Go figure right πŸ˜‰ So anyway, kudos to you for doing that! I do hope your sister is improving. I think about her often. And women do pretty much kick ass right!

    • Yeah, Jo and I are vying for “sister of the year” award – it’s a fierce battle to the finish. πŸ˜‰ In all seriousness though, I’d do it again (and will be doing it again and again until she recovers fully) in an instant. I cherished those quiet moments with Isabel even though it left me sleep-deprived. Quite the bonding moment which I’ll totally remember for years to come.

      Thank you for thinking of her – she’s coming along, it’s still a pretty long road for her but she’s working so hard to get well and I’m so grateful for that. And for friends like you sending her good vibes. Another reason we ladies kick some major booty. πŸ™‚

  3. Honestly, the sleep deprivation was one of the hardest parts of parenting in the first year. I realized that four straight hours of sleep is what’s necessary in order to feel like a human being the next day. Four solid hours is better than six broken ones for some reason!

    Wow….I’m suddenly feeling very glad that those days are far behind me…. lol

  4. Okay, you and Jo are SERIOUSLY amazing sisters! Gosh, what a GREAT idea to stay the night and help out. I did that once for only part of the night, and my nephew was about 6 months old…I am just in AWE that you took newborn duty! I agree…and I know from watching my sisters that being a mom is, without a doubt, the HARDEST job out there. Thankfully, it also seems like the most rewarding! πŸ™‚ And you are DEFINITELY a wonderful auntie-in-training. All of these tips and tricks will come in handy one day! πŸ˜‰

  5. Oh my goodness, as excited and THRILLED as I am about this baby boy in my belly, I’m a little nervous about the sleep deprivation part, buuuuuuut, I am WOMAN hear me ROARRRRRRR!! πŸ™‚

  6. one hour of sleep and I’d be worthless! Your such a good sister. I take care of my nieces and nephews and after a couple hours I am WIPED! And thats with my hubs helping. Motherhood is definitely a lot of PATIENCE! πŸ™‚

    • I know – I was kinda worthless after that, but somehow managed to plow through the day. I’ll say that I did sleep like a LOG after that night of sleeplessness which sort of made up for it. I’m with you – patience is key as a mom…I better work on that if I ever intend to have kids one day. Patience is NOT my strong suit!!

Leave a Reply

