(more) confessions of a fitness blogger

I have *another* fitness blogger confession to make.

While there are so many things I love about blogging, there is one thing I don’t like about it.

It causes me to compare myself to others, and not in an entirely healthy or balanced way, either.

Let me explain.

I’m a very competitive person, this much you all know, right? I like to constantly challenge myself, this much you also know, yes?

Well – lately I’ve found myself criticizing myself and really struggling to keep and maintain a healthy and balanced outlook on my life and my approach to health and fitness. I’ve had doubts.( Interestingly enough, my fellow blogger friend Tina just posted something sort of similar on her blog today, too. Check it out.)

And I’ve pinpointed the main reason for it: I’ve been comparing myself to other fitness and healthy living bloggers who take a much more restrictive (for lack of a better word) approach to fitness and healthy eats.

You all know by now that this is one fitness blogger who loves to eat, loves to drink, loves to be merry (as my blog tagline so very clearly states!). So, I’ll never be that blogger who eats a very strict diet and very rarely indulges. Instead, I’d go out on a limb to say that I indulge on a daily basis. Now I’m not talking about a “pigging out” style indulgence – but something as simple as a piece of chocolate after dinner (or two…) or a glass of wine “on a school night” if the day was particularly stressful. And thus far, I’ve been proud of that.

I’m also proud of my approach to fitness. Yes, I workout almost everyday (I’ll admit I used to take rest days very infrequently but I’ve since realized that a rest day is just as important as a workout. Your body needs active recovery between workouts to perform at it’s best the next time you hit the gym, the weights, the pavement, etc.). And yes, there are some days that I’ll do a workout in the AM (STS for example) and then take a spin class or a Kick class at night. But that isn’t a daily thing for me – but maybe a once or twice a week thing for me. I try to maintain a balanced, smart approach to my workouts. And regardless,  I certainly fuel my body accordingly.

So why am I reiterating all of this to you here? Well, it’s partly to remind myself that I am, indeed, still “doing the right thing” if you will. I’m not letting that pendulum swing too far to the left or to the right…in other words I’m not swinging towards an overly restrictive diet and an overtraining route to fitness, nor am I swinging too far to the other end of the spectrum and getting too lax with my eats and my workouts.

It’s balanced. It’s me.

I’m also saying all of this to remind all of you (IRL friends, bloggy friends, anyone else out there poking around on this here blog!) that it’s a slippery slope. It’s very easy to get caught up in the excitement of it all – of being the most “restrained” fitness blogger there ever was amongst your circle of blog friends. It’s also easy to let those thoughts swirl around in your head, those comparative thoughts that poke holes in your confidence, causing you to doubt yourself and your approach, as well as your reason for being so committed to healthy living to begin with.

I’m here to say that I’ve been there – and I could feel myself veering towards that unhealthy mindset recently. Hence my “confession” to you all here tonight. It happens. You just have to be able to recognize that you’re prone to overly comparing yourself to other fitness bloggers (and in some cases, your IRL friends, colleagues, etc.) and remind yourself why you’re the awesome person and fitness blogger that you are, unique in every sense of the word. <—pep talk to self.

Long story short:

I am who I am.

I’m balanced.

I’m healthy.

I’m fit.

I’m happy.

I’m strong.

I’m content.

And for that, I am proud of who I am, and thankful for taking a needed step back today to realize it. #TheLittleThings.

(and now, where’s that piece of post-dinner chocolate I was looking for…)

14 thoughts on “(more) confessions of a fitness blogger

  1. Girl I hear you! There are definitely pros and cons to blogging. I mean, you meet so many awesome people, you gain so much inspiration, you learn so much in general, but then you see all these posts that make you feel like you may just not be doing everything “right.” I know I find myself questioning how clean I am eating, how healthy am I eating, I’m not lifting enough or doing crazy cutting diets/workouts. Yep, I drink wine (even on school nights). Nope, not training for a marathon and that’s ok. Nothing wrong with finding 10.5 miles enough for now.

    At the same time, through blogging, I realized some unhealthy habits like overtraining. I’ve also learned how to better fuel for workouts, how to push myself just a bit more to realize that I am indeed a runner and I love it.

    Sorry about the rambling novel 😉 And I love you for you being you!!!

    • I LOVED the rambling novel, friend! I had a feeling this particular post would resonate with you in more ways than one. I know that blogging has taught you a lot about YOU, too, especially in that you did find yourself prone to overtraining and were able to identify it and fix it before it got too out of control. And THAT is what I love about blogging. I just don’t like when I fall victim to the comparisons and the competitive side of me (and by that, I mean the not healthy competitive side of me). So I’m glad that came through in my post…I sorta felt rambly as I wrote it tonight. 😉

  2. I know what you mean sis…so easy to get into the comparison mode and not think you’re doing enough. Sure, you are a fitness blogger, but you are also a blogger that happens to write about fitness and sometimes that distinction might be able to help. You write about fitness because you LOVE it, but not because it’s your job or because you have to. Can I get a hell yea?

    • Hell yeah is right! You make a very good point, I do this because I love it. Not because I have to or I’m paid to. But because I truly, honest-to-god, LOVE it. Amen, hell yeah, all that jazz, just sayin 😉

  3. You’re also passionate about fitness and life and enjoying life. You have the right balance so you don’t need to worry. Enjoy the vino, the chocolate and all the good things in life. I think for me life would be so dull if I followed a 100% clean eating lifestyle and never had any treats or I was a perfectionist when it comes to training my abs or not skipping parts of the fitness dvds. I love learning about fitness from blogs and learning about new workouts etc.

  4. I just realized we have almost the same blog tag “eat drink and abe merry”! : )
    I’m totally with you along the lines that I love to eat and drink but also maintain a balanced healthy lifestyle by working out, getting my sleep and not stressing about little things. I blog about everything I do, such as drinking red wine and ordering pizza on a Friday night (without guilt)and I could care less if other bloggers think this is not healthy of me. I think that as a blogger you need to take what you want from other blogs, such as recipes or new exercise moves, but never compare yourself to anyone else. : )

    • That is so funny! I didn’t notice that until you pointed it out either! We must be blog sista’s from another mother or something. 😉
      Especially since your view on blogging is SO similar to mine, except for the fact that I clearly let myself get sucked into it all, hence my confession. I’m glad you got my point though, it’s so true – you are fully within your rights to pick and choose what you like about the blogs you follow vs. following them like the letter of the law, and feeling badly if you don’t match up to their standards or something.

  5. I think you put it perfectly when saying you know you are still doing the right thing…and most importantly it is the right thing for YOU and not anyone else. Comparisons are tricky. If we recognize them we can move on though. You got your head on straight. 🙂

  6. Ugh, it’s so easy to get wrapped up into the comparison mentality, especially when you’re competitive by nature. It’s ok to have a benchmark to compare yourself against on occasion ( and, seriously, a little competition never hurt anyone) but at the end of the day, you have to remember to do right by you. There will always be someone faster than you, healthier than you, skinnier than you, etc. You have to remember that you’re human, you’re doing the best for yourself, and hey, you’re having fun along the way!

    • Isn’t it? It’s partly a female thing – getting so wrapped up in comparisons, judging, etc. ESPECIALLY given my spice for competition…but still, even just writing this post last night was humbling and brought me back to reality. I’m telling ya, there is SO something to be said for blogging it out!

  7. Pingback: Ah, endorphins « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Confessions of a fitblogger, part 3 « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

