Motivation annnnnd holiday temptation, oh my!

So, I’ve been seeing a lot of blogs lately talking about the holidays approaching and learning to “let go” of routine in favor of enjoying the holiday season.

And it got me thinking.

I’m not sure I necessarily agree.

But hear me out first.

While I am ALL for letting go of routine now and then – because what would life be like if we stuck to a rigid routine 100% of the time, right? I don’t necessarily think that “the holidays” is a reason to throw caution to theย  wind. At least not entirely.

Now before you hop all over me for being anti-balance all of a sudden, trust me – nothing has changed there. My big thing is that yes – we should ALL enjoy the holidays for what they’re meant for: time spent with family and friends, making memories, trading gifts, and yes – eating yummy treats we typically only get once per year.

BUT – those yummy treats and endless holiday parties and outings ultimately will add up. I’m much more of the mindset that trying to stick to your usual eats and workouts as much as possible without missing out on the holiday cheer is also important. Yes, it takes balance. I’d never suggest skipping a holiday party in favor of a spin class. Don’t be silly.

What I would recommend, though? Using your workouts to maintain consistency, where possible. I wouldn’t suggest trying lots of crazy new workouts or workout routines during the holiday season because it’ll be hard to maintain and you’d be prone to failure – and let’s be honest, “failing” is a recipe for ruined motivation – maybe for good.

Long story short? Try to stick to your “usual” tried-and-true workouts (and eats) and enjoy the holiday season and the treats that come with it as just that – treats (as I sit here envisioning a sugar cookie with frosting and sprinkles!).

Just my two cents though. Agree? Disagree?

11 thoughts on “Motivation annnnnd holiday temptation, oh my!

  1. Great points you’ve made, consistency is really the key and keeping up with workouts throughout the year and during the holiday season. My poor Cathe new dvds are stuck someplace!! I’m snowed in here, I did a shovel and ice max this morning, we tried to get rid of all the snow at the gate. Crazy snow weather but I did get in a HIIT workout, did 30/30. Just wondered have you done them? Tried 40/20 but it killed me, I can manage 30/30 and double wave pyramid.

    • I’m glad you liked it!

      And yes, I’ve done HiiT. They are TOUGH even though very short. 30/30 isn’t so bad but 40/20 is tough as is Pyramid.
      You will LOVE the Hiit In Intensity though, not nearly as bad, though still very effective at getting that heart-rate pumping! I am so sorry yours are stuck somewhere, how sad!

  2. I definitely don’t think we should “let go” completely – it’s all about balance and maybe switching things up if you spent the Summer/Fall training for big events and your mind/body needs a little break ๐Ÿ™‚ Finding new challenges for the holidays? that’s something I can behind!

    • Wow! I love that you all agree with me – not that I doubted you would, but still. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks ladies!! (that goes for Heather, Naomi, Jess, Heather, Jolene and Susan – you ladies rock!)

  3. LOVE.THIS.

    Now if I can just practice what you preach. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve done both sides of the spectrum, and honestly, both kind of stink! I’ve done the overindulging/eat til you literally want to puke, and I’ve done the ‘staying away from anything sweet’ and obviously, that stinks, too! This year I’m trying my BEST to do as you said….keep workouts “normal,” and not try to compensate for the yummy treats with extra long hardcore workouts (unless I am just in the mood….). I think the key for all of us is balance….but I know, easier said than done!

Leave a Reply

