Hmm, growth

So, in catching up on my bloggy friends this weekend, I was reading one of my new(er) blog friends’ posts from today – Lindsay over at Cotter Crunch who posted on the concept of “growth” versus “goals” and it got me thinking.

Now, I’m a huge goals person. I think it goes back to me being super-duper Type-A and my need and desire for structure. By setting goals and working towards new challenges, I’m usually handed a pretty structured approach to reaching those goals versus just stumbling upon new challenges and meeting them just by chance.

I’m not a “just by chance” kind of gal, if you haven’t noticed yet but now. Though, I strive to be less “structured” and more free-flowing, but let’s just say that’s a huge-ass work in progress, mmk? 😉

So, in reading Lindsay’s post – she commented on how not into goal-setting she is because it stresses her out. Instead, she looks at “growth” opportunities. Basically areas in her life that she can identify as areas she can “grow” in, in some shape or form. This month, she’s focusing on time management as an area to grow into, but isn’t setting pre-defined “goals” for this “growth” opportunity, she’s just focusing on improving.

Seems logical, right?

Well for me, I’m sitting here wondering why I’m struggling with the concept of growth versus goals. I think it’s because I am so goddamn darn controlling in some ways that I struggle to relax and loosen my grip on my goals, letting them evolve naturally (i.e. “growing”) instead of in such a structured way. This could very well be why I’ve not only decided I’d like to tackle a tri in 2011 but that I’d like to tackle a second half as well. Both involve a high level of structure and planning. Right up my alley.

So I guess I’m wondering if I can stick to a focus on “growth” vs. “goals” in December, sort of as a test-run towards finding a way to relax my Type A tendencies just a wee bit. But even as I sit here typing this, I’m not really even sure where to start or how to “grow” into a less structured, less Type A version of me. All I’m looking for is to be more Type A- than Type A+, ya know what I mean?

But again, I’m not even sure where to start…so I’ll sit here ruminating on it a bit more while I enjoy what’s left of this weekend that went by in a whoooosh.  I’m all ears if you have ideas, in the meantime. 😉

14 thoughts on “Hmm, growth

  1. LOL, my favorite part of this whole blog is the “I’m not a just by chance kind of gal, in case you haven’t noticed”. 😉

    I have an idea for you…DARE you to go to bed with dirty dishes in the since, JUST ONCE!

    • HAHA, of course you took this as your opportunity to pose a challenge to me. And one you KNOW I have such a hard time with!! You really think I can actually go to bed with dishes in the sink??? Ahhhh, just the thought stresses me out 😉 I’ll think about it. Close enough??

  2. Lindsay’s post was great wasn’t it? I am more along the lines of growth vs goals. I don’t really set goals either for many of the reasons she doesn’t. But at the same time, I am super Type A, as you well know. Maybe a shift in thought would be really good for you?

    • I always find it so interesting that you and I are so alike in our Type A tendencies but this is the one place we differ. SO interesting/intriguing to me! But you’re right…maybe I do need to shift my thinking a wee bit, even if not ALL the time but some of the time (also probably more doable for me at this point 😉

  3. I’m kinda type A and controlling and I realized setting goals was making me more controlling. Not good for my poor hubs. I love this post, it cracks me up and its so real! You will figure this out and when you do, I can’t wait to read ALL about it!
    cheers to growth!
    LC

  4. Growth vs goals, great post.I think I was very much type A in personality in the past but I’d like to think I’m much more relaxed now or at least try to be. I’ve got rid of my watch and try and go with the flow. Though I have to say I’m very impatient at the moment, still no Cathe dvds!!!

  5. I think it’s just a mindset thing. Looking at it as growth vs. goals. Goals, to me, feels like it has an endpoint, while growth can be constant and a work-in-progress. It goes into the whole “don’t strive for perfection” thing. Ya know? So I think as with the type A thing, it’s all about baby steps and a shift in mindset. You can do it sis, and I need to too 🙂

    • It’s true. It’s about perception, totally – I feel like SO MUCH is about perception lately huh? It’s so hard not to always want perfection – I never like to feel like I’ve done something half-assed which is why I put such pressure on myself to always succeed and go above and beyond. But sometimes a B+ effort is ok too. I need to learn to adjust my thinking there…and so do you Jo, to some extent at least 😉

    • That’s my thing – I like the structure and the “working towards” something feeling…but I’m also digging this “Growth” concept too, and that a goal doesn’t have to have an “end” to it to be called successful. I think that’s where I have a trouble – needing a definitive beginning and an end, ya know?

  6. Pingback: So what makes a workout “puke-worthy” you ask? « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

