Hello, Runner’s High?

Hello, Runner’s High?

I miss you.

Very much.

Can we please be friends again?

Seriously. I am SO over winter. It’s totally put a kink in my relationship with good ‘ol Runner’s High. So I’ve decided two things need to happen:

  1. I need to buy even warmer winter running gear.
  2. I need to get used to running solo.

Yup, I rarely – if ever – run alone. Mostly because, as I noted yesterday, I love running with my husband as some of our best “us” time ever. I also love my running buddies Steph and Jo – we are sorely in need of a “run date” ASAP. So when the thought of running alone pops into my mind, it quickly scurries away. I just find running with others to be not only a great bonding experience but also great motivation.

But – since schedules just aren’t lining up as neatly as they did this spring/summer during half training, I need to get over the running alone thing. Though, I still won’t run alone if it’s dark out. Far too scary for my liking (yes, I’m a huge ‘fraidy cat, for the record). But, since I MISS running so badly and running solo has been part of the reason I haven’t gotten to run as much as I’d like to, it’s time.

The bigger reason, though, is the damn weather. It’s freezing. It gets dark way too freakin’ early and is dark until 7am in the morning which means the only time I can run during the week it’ll always be dark. Given my ‘fraidy cat issues, running during the week if alone, is a no-go. But running on the weekends, that I can do. Much more daylight to work with.

To alleviate the chilly factor, it’s time to invest in some of the Underarmor Frosty Gear, me thinks.

Hello, Santa? Are you listening??

I’d love this:

Or this:

Or both. πŸ™‚

Needless to say, I’ve got running on the brain. Especially after catching up onΒ  some of my other blogger friends who also have seem to have running on the brain, like Lee at InMyTummy, who mapped out the races she wants to do this spring. And, especially Heather who, despite her current injury, is trying her hardest to lure me and my sis into running the Little Rock Half with her in March.

Ah, decisions, decisions!

Either way – must.get.reacquainted.with.runner’s.high.STAT. Wish away the snow forecast for Sunday please, I’d really like to run.

15 thoughts on “Hello, Runner’s High?

    • I know…it’s not really a matter of me not wanting to run/making time for the run, it’s making the winter weather running work for me. I downright will NOT train for a race on the dreadmill. I just can’t do it. I LOVE running outside, love, love, love it!

  1. You definitely need BOTH plus a wind jacket to cut the wind. Makes a HUGE difference. Also get yourself running gloves if you don’t have them already – they wick away the moisture unlike most gloves.

    I’m going to have to agree with Kjirsten on signing up for the race πŸ˜‰

    As for running alone – sometimes I prefer it. It’s “me” time. As much as I love running with Jason, it can be nice to just get out there alone to clear your head.

    • I know – I have lots of layers usually that I wear and I have running tights but they are for cold weather vs. frosty weather, clearly I need the frosty gear now. how sad!!

      You are funny…and very much tempting me to sign up!!

    • Oh man, I am SURE you do, Tina! But just imagine how revved up you’ll be when you’re cleared for your first workout, post Baby B?? It’ll feel like such a treat, right? Almost there!!

    • How do you do it, Lee?? I just cannot stand the treadmill – it’s like torture to me vs. running outside! And I even OWN a darn treadmill and it’s like torture getting me to use it unless I absolutely must.

  2. I hear you with the winter weather!! Looks like we’ll be snowed in again from today and every evening from 7pm to 7am our water supplies are turned off. Nightmare.

  3. You know I’m a huge proponent of running solo, so maybe try it once and see what you think. Think about it this way: when you run with friends, you have the chance to bond, and that’s great! When you run by yourself, you only have your thoughts, and you get that highly desired “me” time. You have the chance to bond with yourself – and, for me anyway, it’s that one chance I have to escape.

    Now, you know how I feel about running in the dark (hello, almost getting hit by cars) but we’re limited by mother nature and our job hours, so you just have to get out there and do it. Just be a defensive runner.

    • I know, I usually use my countless other solo workouts as my “me” time and running is more of a bonding thing for me. But you’re right, it wouldn’t kill me to get out on my own now and then too. πŸ˜‰

      As for the dark thing – I’m more scared of some scary animal jumping out of the woods at me in the dark than anything else. HA!

  4. YES to the runner’s high! There isn’t (that I’ve found) anything like it to me. I LOVE those tights and that shirt….Under Armor is supposed to be the best! Do you have an outlet near you? It’s a little bit cheaper there, if you can find one…but either way, it’s totally worth the $$$.

    I do my short runs on the treadmill during the winter, but if I have to run more than 6, I have to take it outside….why are treadmills sooooo boring? I think I just need a change of constant scenery, ya know?

Leave a Reply

