Having an “anti-cardio” moment, help!

Oh wait.

I already resolved the problem.

Though I’d love any neat ideas you have for cardio workouts to try. πŸ˜‰

But lemme back wayyy the heck up.

I’ve been on an anti-cardio kick this week. No idea why (well I do know…I am already sick of being trapped inside for most cardio workouts, I seriously live in the wrong part of the country). All I’ve gravitated towards since Monday has been weight training. I’m in the second week of STS mesocycle 3 (reminder – all about heavy weights, few reps, lots of rest in between sets) and am really into it this time, much more so than previous STS rotations. I usually get SUPER duper antsy during the longer rests between sets but I think I’m finally lifting heavy enough in this phase that I’m finding I need that long rest. I likey. πŸ˜‰

But anyway, the cardio thing (sorry, my brain has been ALL over the place this week…just ask my husband who I’ve been driving nuts with it all week!).Β  Everytime I consider a cardio workout, it’s like all I can do to avoid it. I’ll think of any excuse.

You should’ve heard my convo with Scott last night about what workout to do this morning (ended up sticking with STS paired with some core work from core fusion). It was hysterical and went something like this

Me:Β  Should I do STS and core? Treadmill and core? Kick and core? Intensity? Or stick to STS since that was what I had ‘scheduled’ to do tomorrow? But I should do cardio…hmm…but I should stick to STS since it’s part of the rotation schedule…buuuut.

Scott: Do STS and core. Ok, fine, do the treadmill then. STS and core? Um. Ok.

<this lasted for the duration of dinner prep, believe it or not>

He fully thinks I’ve lost it, if he didn’t know that already after 6+ years of marriage. πŸ˜‰

BUT – have no fear, my anti-cardio moment is about to pass. I found a great solution over at Beck on the Run – she is currently training for a half marathon (ohh how I miss thee) and found a great speed workout that works well on the treadmill.

An excerpt (she calls it “speed wednesday”…I may need to borrow this!):

Speed Wednesday (on the treadmill)

  • Warm Up: 1.5 miles @ 6.2 mph – 9:40/mi
  • 4 x 800m (1/2 mile) @ 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 8.0 (7:53/mi, 7:47/mi, 7:41/mi, 7:30/mi)
  • Recovery: 400m (1/4 mile) @ 6.0 mph between each interval
  • Cool Down: 1.5 miles @ 6.2-6.4 mph

I don’t know why but reading her post on it totally got me jazzed about doing some speed work of my own on the good ‘ol dreadmill tomorrow. Yes. You heard me right – the dreadmill hater looking FORWARD to a dreadmill workout…that involves speed work? Who am I???

But yes. I’m excited about it.

And I promise to report back tomorrow.

(wow, talk about accountability, blogging about your AM workout before you actually do said workout, huh??)

18 thoughts on “Having an “anti-cardio” moment, help!

  1. haha, I do that all the time with my hubs. Its like we need affirmation even though we’ve already made up our minds. OUr ideas are always better. hehe, poor hubs.
    Glad u are going for the dreadmill, it will be worth it!
    LC

  2. Yay! I’m super excited that you’re going to try the run. I can’t wait to hear what you think. You’re having the same effect on me. I want to lift some weights and get strong! We do this for a health, but I think it’s really important to have fun while doing it. Enjoy your workout πŸ™‚

    • Ha, love it! I’ll inspire you to weight train and you’ll inspire me to get over my dreadmill hatred (at least for the short-term, I can’t promise once I can run freely outside that I won’t return to my dreadmill hating ways πŸ˜‰

      I hope I make it through this workout tomorrow – it’s gonna be killer!!
      And PS. You’re right – we DO do this for health…above all else, so we might as well enjoy it while we’re at it!

  3. Oh I totally laughed out loud b/c I’ve had those conversations with Jason (much to his annoyance) as well. He just looks at me like I’m freaking crazy, but God love him, he plays along…. Hope you enjoy the treadmill workout. Seriously, intervals do help (and they’ll make you faster). So should I expect you here March 6????

  4. LOL! I can totally hear that convo. God, we have it with each other. It’s like we need to get the other one to buy in to our workout. Um ok. πŸ˜‰ I am gonna do intervals tomorrow to so this will motivate me to DO IT even though I am not loving the damn dreadmill. XO sis.

  5. I hate when I have moments like that!!!!! I’ve had them too many times lately…which is why I had the issue I had getting back into it!

    And let me tell ya…that workout? I can’t wait until I can get back to a point where I attempt something of that sort!

    Trust me…there’s another husband being driven nuts over workouts…and he lives a few states south of you. LOL

    • I am loving the fact that all of you have similar convos as me – either in your head or with a significant other. I’m not alone in the crazies!!

      I can’t wait for you to try the workout one day soon, too – you can and will get there! So excited to watch your next challenge unfold!

  6. Pingback: Speed-y results « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Uh, remember the anti-cardio funk? « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: STS – that’s a wrap! « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: Intervals, love to hate ‘em « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: Quality time…with the dreadmill? | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

