Speed-y results

Well.

That was wicked haahd. <—said in the thickest Boston accent, possible

But it was awesome!!

What am I talking about? Well nothing other than the “speed Wednesday Friday” workout I managed on the dreadmill this morning (thank you, Becca!).

I will admit to a few modifications from what Becca used for her speed/interval work but it looks very similar:

  • Warm Up: 1.5 miles @ 6.2 mph (I started with a 2-min walking warm-up before this, hard to go right into a run at 5:30 in the AM!)
  • 4 x 800m (1/2 mile) @ 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 8.0 (7:53/mi, 7:47/mi, 7:41/mi, 7:30/mi)
  • Recovery: 400m (1/4 mile) @ 6.0 mph between each interval (I went to a 3.5 mph walk for the first minute of each recovery round)
  • Cool Down: 1.5 miles @ 6.2-6.4 mph (my cool down was a 1 mile vs. 1.5 – because I had to get ready for work)

I have to say, while each speed round pushed me to the edge, it was an AWESOME feeling to know that I could keep that pace up relatively well for the 1/2 mile. Partially because it made the entire workout zoom by, but partially because it just felt good to push msyelf beyond my “comfortable” or “safe” pace.

I guess there’s something to be said for being “uncomfortable” workout-wise too, and not just career-wise! I’m all about the getting uncomfortable this week, aren’t I? Go me?! 🙂

Anyway, I highly recommend this speed workout, not just to anyone looking to increase speed, but for anyone who’s part of the Dreadmill Haters club like me! Though, if this keeps up, I might turn into a quasi-dreadmill fan…at least for the winter…and only when its near impossible to run outside due to weather, time of day (i.e. wicked daahk), that is. 😉

I’ll also say, this workout worked wonders for my mood. I’m on an eternal runner’s high/endorphin rush! It’s like walking on air. Love it.

And PS. If anyone is digging deep for workout motivation, posting your workout the night before actually doing that workout is HUGE motivation when that alarm blares at 5:20am. There was no WAY I was missing my workout today after that!!

17 thoughts on “Speed-y results

  1. nice work ms speedy! i have to say, that is one thing that the TM is great for – speed work! i have a standard TM workout that i have been using for years. i’ll post it just for you shortly!

  2. I wanna read the speed workout too Naomi – do share 🙂 And I have done a few of these (thanks Heather – ahem, see at least I took your advice…just sayin) and want to try this new one soon too. When I can stop fighting myself at the damn dreadmill!

    • Naomi or Heather – will one of you talk sense into my sis. She won’t listen to me when I tell her she’s gotta get out of her head to get her running mojo back. Maybe she’ll listen to you better than me 😉

  3. What a great interval workout. I plan to do one later this afternoon, I’ll do either Cathe’s HIIT pyramid or 30/30. I’m still too scared of 40/20 or maybe I’ll go an hour blast of Intensity. Glad you’re enjoying STS 3 too, I’m loving too. I’m thinking of starting STS 2 when I finish the full cycle of STS 3. Not sure if I’ll go back to STS 1, it was my least favourite.

  4. I did a speed workout this week too. You are right, there is definitely something to be said for pushing yourself to the point of uncomfortableness.

  5. Wow, that is a GREAT workout! I really do think there is something to speed workouts. Like you said, whenever I focus/play around more with speed on the dreadmill, it DEFinitely makes it more fun/interesting. Because, let’s face it…..those things are hoooorrible, right?? I might have to try this workout, too…I just kind of play around with speed, so who knows if I’m even doing it right?? 🙂

  6. I’m glad you liked the run! You rocked it! Intervals definitely make the treadmill more bearable and they are also customizable. Nice modifications! Can’t wait to run with you this year!

    • I even did this very workout again today! That would make THREE times now that I’ve done this workout and haven’t complained about it being done on the treadmill. That is no small feat for me, seriously!

  7. Pingback: Uh, remember the anti-cardio funk? « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Not all workouts are created equally « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

