What inspires you?

I’ve been thinking a lot about inspiration, lately. Blame it on the new year, new job and the fresh perspective it’s given me. The feeling of energy and inspiration I feel at all the new that surrounds me, routine being reshaped before my eyes, and that feeling of being more ready than ever to jump into new challenges than ever before.

So I ask myself today – what inspires me? What inspires you? What’s this thing called ‘inspiration’ all about?

Well…

I’m inspired by others who set and crush a goal. Hello Alicia over at Poise in Parma who ran her first half marathon this weekend! I’m so proud of her, and also incredibly inspired by her. She has an incredible weight loss story to tell, yet that doesn’t define her. It’s not all that she is, it’s just another part of who she is that makes her an inspiration. I dig it. I especially dig that she’s already committed to improving her half marathon time at a second half she’s planning to run in May.  Rock on, girl! <and note to self: decide which half marathon to sign up for in 2011 asap!>

I’m inspired by change. Yes, the girl who resists change, who struggles to find her routine and sense of normalcy is admitting that she’s inspired by the very thing she fears? But it’s true. Even though I talk about how stressful or hard to adjust to that thing called change can be, it also is exactly what I need to push myself to new heights. And I’ve already caught myself looking at situations with an eye towards change – which is SUCH a new way for me to go about looking at things. And I love it.

I’m inspired by inner and outer strength. Of course outer strength – especially in women – is incredibly inspiring.  In a living a wholesome and healthy lifestyle kind of way, not in a vanity-only kind of way (if that makes sense). But also, those near and dear to me who have overcome incredible obstacles in their personal life and turned something so difficult to handle into a positive thing? Now that is truly inspiring. Awesomely so. Both of my sisters have gone through incredibly hard things in the past year or two (or three) and have come out stronger and more amazing than ever. I am so proud of them and it honestly humbles me. I’ve been fortunate enough not to have had to overcome such obstacles in life, yet….and it sometimes makes me wonder, why haven’t I? Humbling, indeed.

I’m inspired by inspiring others. And without really meaning or intending to. To those I’ve somehow inspired on my blog to start a new workout routine (or re-commit to one), or to pursue a new job, or to focus on uncovering their passion again. THAT is truly what inspires me. To be able to help someone else find their groove? Well, it drives me. It is the most awesome feeling ever.

Inspiration. An awesome feeling. Yet hard to truly describe or define. It’s so different for everyone. At least I think so.

So now I need to know – what inspires YOU?

Inquiring minds would love to know. 🙂

20 thoughts on “What inspires you?

  1. i am inspired what i read about other people’s daily lives and the effort they invest to live healthy and actively. when i am feeling lazy, or unmotivated, more than likely there is a blog post or tweet waiting to be read that will inspire me to get moving.

    i am also inspired as i follow someone through a journey, like a training cycle, then seeing them accomplish what they set forth to do.

    great post!

    • great comment, friend! you are so right – and that’s partly what I love so much about blogging itself – which is a source of inspiration indeed. If you didn’t notice, you inspire the heck outta me ya know 😉

    • I totally agree with you – and find your approach to faith and ingraining that into everything you do is a source of inspiration for me, as well. Making a difference, no matter how big or small, is such a great feeling!

  2. JESS! I am sitting her in my in-laws living room trying to catch up on my Google Reader. I come across your post today and am holding back the tears! You are too kind to write such wonderful things. You were one of my inspirations for signing up for the half in the first place! Can’t wait to get home to share the entire story from my first (of MANY!) half marathons!

    • Aww!!! You are so cute! I meant every word – you are so damn inspiring, what can I say??? The fact that I inspired YOU to take the half marathon plunge is amazing in and of itself – so, so cool!!

      And puhleeeze hurry up and tell your half story, I’m DYING to hear how it went!!!

  3. I’m inspired by your blog to learn more about exercising and keep staying fit and I like your thoughts on life.

    I’m inspired by my clients in work with disabilities who have no concept of time and only live in the present. They have forgotten the past and can’t think to the future. I no longer wear a watch since I started working with them and I try and live more in the now and present.

    I’m inspired by one of my good friends who never ever bitches about anyone and is always so kind. I try and follow his lead.

    I’m inspired by blogs, Tosca Reno, Oxygen magazine, Whole Living,Marth Stewart and Jamie Eason to keep exercising and include more clean eating foods in my diet.

    • Love, love, love this Sue! I especially love how inspiring your work is – how incredible. And so true – that we should all live by that rule…living in the present versus “can’t wait-ing” away life. Which we’re all prone to do if we aren’t careful. Love it. Awesome stuff!

  4. Aww, what a great post sis!! And your comment about me and Jen going through difficult things and it being humbling…well, you were there for both of us through it and YOU inspired ME by how well you handled taking care of Isabel and Jen when she was staying with you (I know I helped, but not nearly as much!). You are MY inspiration too 🙂

    • I speak nothing but the truth, sis. You and Jen are such a source of inspiration to me and I meant what I said about it being humbling, because it has been. I count my blessings every single day, even more so than before either of you went through what you did. Talk about appreciating all that life has to offer, huh? xo!

  5. I’m inspired by children. One day, I want to have children and I want to make sure my body is in the best possible shape it can be in to carry a baby I always keep this in the back of my head when I am tempted to eat something fried, skip a workout, stay up late on a work night and so on. The better I prepare my body, the more comfortable I will be carrying a baby! It inspires me to be the best I can be!

    • What a new inspiration! I love that you are thinking about your body in terms of what it means to produce a child (and raise one, for that matter!). Great perspective, girl!

  6. I am really inspired by others. You are an inspiration (hey, I lifted weights!) along with so many other people in my life. I am lucky to be surrounded by amazing people. I am also inspired by feeling like I’ve contributed to something in a positive way, whether it’s someone’s journey to health, a child’s learning to read, or a relative’s healing during a difficult time. Positivity and inspiration is contagious. Thanks for sharing!

    Also, I’ve already found a few fun races for 2011 – we should run something together!

    • Um, I’d LOVE to run a race with you this spring!!! We’ll have to compare notes and figure out which one to do 🙂

      And I LOVE that you did some weights today, how cool!!

      And I also love that you inspire the little ones in life, I swear – teaching is the most rewarding (though under-appreciated) profession there can be. Now THAT is inspiring if you ask me.

  7. Pingback: race recap: 2011 Walt Disney World Half Marathon « poise in parma

Leave a Reply

