Not all workouts are created equally

But don’t get discouraged, it happens more than you think, and that’s ok.

Not every workout is going to blow your mind (though I wish they would!).

Some workouts are gonna be a lot of work with no real “aha” moment aka “runner’s high.”

Other workouts are going to leave you breathless and damn proud of yourself for making it through.

Some will leave you feeling stronger and more toned than ever.

Others will make you feel a little weak and a lot frustrated.

But that’s ok.

In fact, it happened to me just yesterday: My Core Fusion workout was awesome – it was a new one (Long and Lean for those interested!) and left me feeling limber and stronger in my core. But then last night I completed an STS workout (one more to go and I’m done with the rotation, whoa!) and every single exercise and rep felt ridiculously hard.

Ok, so what’s my point?

I think this is seriously why so many “give up” on a consistent workout regime becaues they expect or assume every workout will knock their socks off. Sadly, not the case. BUT with the right mix of workouts to keep you motivated and coming back for more, that workout routine should be habit in no time.

And that, for me, is the key – making that workout fix a habit. Something you come to miss when you take an all-important rest day. Something you actually look forward to – as sick and twisted as that may sound to anyone just getting their workout groove back. But trust me, it’s true. Before long, you’ll find yourself in my shoes – actually looking forward to a ‘speed Wednesday’ workout on the dreadmill tonight. 😉

But that’s just my random two cents for this ‘speed” (literally – as I wrote this in about 35 seconds today) Wednesday blog post.

Agree? Disagree? Discuss. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Not all workouts are created equally

  1. Agree! And sometimes that one workout you do can be hard just do to the day, but the point is you did it! And you body will thank you for it. Its good to have those days, its make us MENTALLY stronger, right?
    LC

    • Sooo true – its often mentally tougher sometimes vs physically and its those workouts that make for an awesome workout the next time. Man do we sound like we belong to some weird workout cult or what??

  2. I totally agree. I think a lot of people hear others say things about “awesome” workouts or how much fun they had and runner’s high, etc. So they assume that means the workout was fun like as in a stroll in the park. Sometimes awesome means it kicked your ass and was puke-worthy. The awesome comes from the fact that you’re still standing!

    • Love that :”the awesome comes from the fact that you’re still standing” ha, so perfect! I may post that on a sticky note to remind myself next time I have a “don’t wannna” moment 😉

  3. I dealt with this just yesterday. After a tough 15 miler on Sunday, I was so worried to run again. All I could think of was that exhaustion and pain. I made a deal with myself to just get on the treadmill and try a few miles, which became 6 because I felt awesome! It’s important to start fresh each day.

    • It’s SO hard to get out of your head after that – you start to dread something you normally love. Good for you for mentally preparing yourself and physically pushing through! So awesome!

    • Totally agree – running is when this good day/bad day workout happens for me too. Surprisingly, I’ve had a few back to back “Good’ runs on the treadmill no less, weird right?? Usually its outside running that never fails me!

  4. as usual, you nailed it. i did a double workout today, both of which could be classified in the “Others will make you feel a little weak and a lot frustrated” category. blog post to come shortly…

  5. Pingback: …and not all workouts go according to plan. « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  6. So true. All workouts we do are SO different in variety, and that’s probably the best part. I feel totally different when I do Core than when I do STS but both aftereffects feel awesome. Now hopefully I can get that back with running.

  7. AMEN. I wish I got that “high” after every single workout…but sometimes it seems SO much more intense than others! I can understand that somewhat with classes like spinning because each instructor is different (and every class is), but with running and strength training it’s pretty much the same….so why sometimes does it feel like I am going.to.die?!! I *tell* myself it’s based on so many different things…lack of sleep catching up to you, my diet, amount of caffeine that day, stress, yada yada. I think there is some truth to that (though I’m no doctor). 😉 I guess it makes those “runner’s highs” that much sweeter, huh??

Leave a Reply

