…and not all workouts go according to plan.

Just like I said not all workouts are created equally?

Well, not all workouts go according to plan, either.

Last night’s planned ‘Speed Wednesday” treadmill run turned into my rest day.

But only because traffic was not cooperating and little ‘ol me didn’t get home until 7pm and with a rumbling tummy, I knew if I tried to workout with the tank on empty, I’d pay sorely for it. It would’ve fallen into the Not every workout is going to blow your mind (though I wish they would!) category.

The good news, though? This morning’s early AM workout rewind did the trick. The interval workout I found over at Carrots ‘n Cake was just what I was looking for – a speedy interval workout, v2!

Here’s how it looked:

45 minutes total

Warm up: 3 minutes easy walk or jog (4 mph)Β 

1st Set

3 minute tempo run (6.5 )
3 minute sprint interval (sprint 1 minute , jog 1 minute, sprint 1 minute) (7.5, 6, 7.5)
3 minute tempo run (6.7)

Recovery: 3 minute walk or jog (4)

2nd Set

5 minute tempo run (6.7)
5 minute sprint interval (sprint 1 min., jog 1 min, sprint 1 min., jog 1 min., sprint 1 min.)
(7.5, 6, 7.5, 6, 7.5)
5 minute tempo run (7)

Recovery: 3 minute walk or jog (4)

3rd Set

3 minute tempo run (7)
3 minute sprint interval (sprint 1 minute, jog 1 minute, sprint 1 minute) (8, 6, 8)
3 minute tempo run (7)

Cool down:

3 minute walk or jog (4)

God, I love bloggy land!! You all have such awesome ideas – or have found some awesome ideas from other bloggers that I then borrow and learn to love just as much as they did. As you’ll see, I found the section of Tina‘s blog on treadmill workouts and that lead me to Melissa‘s blog – and both are now firmly planted in my google reader as well. Thank you, ladies!

But what can I say about the workout?

Hands down – it fits into this category very nicely:

Other workouts are going to leave you breathless and damn proud of yourself for making it through.

High five! And off to work I go, just had to blog this while it was hot off the presses, so to speak πŸ˜‰

26 thoughts on “…and not all workouts go according to plan.

    • I’m glad too! It was awesome!

      Commute isn’t terrible MOST of the time – it’s the winter that throws everything out of whack. So yes, right now commute sucks, but I’m optimistic that it’ll improve after the snow clears (though you’d think living in New England, we’d all know how to drive in it by now!)

  1. I like your workout you did this morning, I’m going to have to give it a try. I read your last post, I totally agree, not all workouts are created equally and sometimes I wonder why I’m consistent with STS (well it is great) but I couldn’t be consistent with Beachbody’s Chalene Extreme or Insanity, I didn’t do all their workouts and gave up on them both and traded them.

  2. WOW, that is an awesome, awesome run, Jess!!! How awesome did you feel after that?!! I’ve actually never done a “real” speedwork session….it seems so….intense! πŸ˜‰ Maybe I will try one out soon….can’t hurt, right??

    • I think you’d like it, Holly – especially if you hate steady state running on the treadmill like me. This is all I can bear to do on the treadmill now, “just” running on that damn thing is like torture to me!

  3. Pingback: Intervals, love to hate ‘em « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  4. Pingback: Happy, happy Β« EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  5. Pingback: Oh, Hoopy Day! | life after swimming

  6. Pingback: Back at it | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Quality time…with the dreadmill? | EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

