Ruminations on CF Challenge: Day 1

Today marks the first day in the 30-day Core Fusion Challenge my sis and I are doing together.

A couple of ruminations that struck me during today’s workout. But first – before I forget. I wanted to share my planned workout schedule for this week:

Sunday: Kick <—check!

Monday: Core Fusion Body Sculpt <—check!

Tuesday: Core Fusion Pilates Abs

Wednesday: Ride; Core Fusion Lean & Toned

Thursday: Core Fusion Pilates Abs OR rest

Friday: Core Fusion Pilates Abs OR rest

Saturday: Something runner-ish. More than likely, a speed workout on the dreadmill (given the snow forecast for mid-week, we may never dig out…)

So here’s a question that just dawned on me – I really wanted to get Core Fusion in 5x/week vs. 4x/week but where to fit it in unless I squeese it in on Saturday? Hmmm…sooo tempted *not* to take a rest day this week but I know, that’s bad. Must resist urge. I will mull this over.

But back to the point of my post – some initial ruminations on the first day of the challenge.

  1. I noticed I felt more “centered” both during and right after completing this morning’s workout. I felt more settled and ready to conquer the day. Maybe because I didn’t let my mind wander like I normally do during a run or a spin class or whatever. But I *really* focused on locking that core in, keeping those glutes tight, etc. I guess I sort of do that during a typical weight workout but for some reason this just felt different, somehow.  
  2. I really took the “strength within stillness” mantra to heart. Any time I wanted to step out of a thigh or glute strengthening move or was dying to get out of that ab curl, I thought about that statement that Fred and Elisabeth mention often during the workout.  And I held onto it, even if it was just a second longer, a second is still a second, right?
  3. My whole body felt “worked.” This one is hard to describe…but it almost felt like energy was coursing through  my body, my legs felt almost wobbly at the end and my abs were a-hurtin. And yet, I didn’t sweat nearly as much as during Kick, Ride, running, you name it. That still surprises me somehow – but I think this feeling goes back to that “mind-body connection” that Core Fusion is based on. At least that’s how it felt…again, hard to describe.

Anyway, just some random first impressions/ruminations as I dive into this challenge with my sis.  I’m intrigued, to say the least.

19 thoughts on “Ruminations on CF Challenge: Day 1

  1. Yes yes yes yes yes! The great thing is that even when something is hard and really hurts, you can focus and stick it out because it will be over soon enough. I love the way you felt today and I hope this feeling continues. I am so proud of you for doing this.

    • You are SO making me even more excited to really get this challenge underway. I LOVE how passionate you are about this and how supportive you are of me, it’s so awesome and inspiring and exciting!!

    • I knowwwww. I’m terrible. You are right and I know it. God why are you so right?? 😉
      This is going to be an interesting challenge, I’m loving how it’s challenging my mindset more than anything else.

  2. You are right sis, this is a really good workout for both of us. I am looking forward to it tomorrow morning. I did part of Pilates Plus and am always blown away by how HARD it is. But I feel improvements and strength beginning. Feels awesome. Will write my own post soon 🙂

    • Yes, I think you need to guest post for me soon, mmk. This is not just a physical challenge for us but even more so it’s TOTALLY mental because neither of us have ever drastically shifted our workout mindsets this much before. It’s gonna be interesting to say the least 😉

  3. You must take your rset day and let your body fully recover from all the activity! I know it can be hard, but you could always go for a walk if you must do something!
    I think you are going to become a much stronger person mentally from this challenge and you are off to a great start!

    • I love you ladies – you’re all “scolding” me for even considering not taking a rest day. Even though I HATE to admit it, I know ya’ll are right. I promise I won’t skip the rest day!

  4. You are getting me so interested in Core Fusion! I love that you are enjoying the workouts. Just remember that you might not be sweating as much, but your body will still need rest 😉

    • You should give it a shot – even just once or twice a week in the midst of your marathon training, it might be a nice change of pace for you? And yes, I know, I need the rest even though I’m such a rest day hater!! It’s a necessary “evil’ 😉

  5. I also recommend incorporating Core Fusion Yoga Flow and Boot Camp into your rotation. Both of those workouts will make you sweat and get your heart rate up, especially Boot Camp, but will also give you the fabulous core strengthening, toning, and that great feeling of being worked out, yet centered and calm at the end of each Core Fusion workout. I think the Yoga Flow is my absolutely favorite Core Fusion DVD workout. I feel absolutely amazing, calm, refreshed, and really worked out when I finish. Core Fusion workouts are awesome, inspiring, and very physically and mentally challenging when done correctly!

    • You’re right – boot camp is a great addition to this rotation and I’m definitely planning to include it, if not this week then definitely next week. I tried it for the first time last week and was totally impressed! Those sun salutations and jump backs add up, and FAST! I don’t have yoga flow but maybe that’s one I should add to the mix soon too…it’s an incredible series, I’m loving it so far!

  6. Ooph! Jess, that schedule’s going to have your core back to where you want it in no time at all! I feel the same “centered” feeling after I’ve left a yoga session. I miss yoga, and I can’t wait for the next class to start just so I can feel that way again. LOVE it. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Core Fusion Guest Blog: Is that Definition I see? « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Well, that was eye-opening « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

