Small victory, little joys

Quickly…

…some little things making me smile today.

A small victory in Core Fusion today. During Core Fusion Pilates Plus, I was able to lift my feet off the ground during one of the round back series (during the knees bent section for those of you familiar with the program). Sure, it was only for a few reps, but it signals progress. Working towards those moves I’m dying to quasi-master in Core Fusion.

The smile my husband always knows how to bring to my face with the most thoughtful of gestures. While getting myself together for work this morning, he left to fill my tank with gas and came back with a full tank plus a Starbucks venti waiting for me in the car. Saving me precious minutes on my commute this morning. He is the best.

Overhearing on the radio that it *may* hit 40 degrees this weekend. The mere thought of running outside this weekend fills my heart with joy.

Booking a somewhat spontaneous trip to Jamaica with  my sis and her boyfriend. A real beach vacation! With tropical umbrellas, sand, fruity drinks and SUNSHINE. With great company. While most of this post is about taking in the little things in our everyday life, this is a “big” little thing (it’s not everyday you book a trip to the islands, am I right??)

Comments from blog friends that give me such perspective. Sure, my post last night was a mash-up of “blogging it out” and whining just a tad, but your comments have been awesome. Giving me much-needed perspective and peace of mind that my much-beloved balance in life will soon return. And in the meantime, I’m going to focus less on that and more on all of the small victories and little joys surrounding me every single day.

Because my life? Well, it’s pretty damn good. Must not lose sight of that.

27 thoughts on “Small victory, little joys

  1. These are big victories in my book! Especially Core Fusion! I was able to do that for like, one or two reps! Ha, it’s progress though!! I gotta think of my next guest blog topic….as for the trip, I can’t freaking wait. So excited. AND, Scott is so cute, how thoughtful, as always.

    • Working out with a fever, sounds rather awful 😦 I hope you feel better!

      On the outdoor run – I am SO SO SO looking forward to that this weekend, it’s been weeks and weeks since I’ve been able to take it outdoors, been stuck on the dreadmill ever since. Boo !

  2. This post made me smile. 🙂 Your hubby is a sweetie to do something like that for you! (Sounds like something my hubby would do! God love ’em!)

    I LOVE that you booked a vacation…I need one in the worst way, so I can say, “I’m jealous!”

    What makes me even happier is to see that you’re really focusing on the good…I feel like a lot of us need to be doing that recently, because of unbalance, the ups and downs.

    PS: WOO HOO on the core fusion victory!!! That’s a GREAT victory!!!!

    • Aww your hubby sounds pretty great, I must say! Love that!!

      You’re right…evne though I blogged it out on the whole balance thing, overall I’m really focused on the good in life right now, because it feels like it’s all around me. And it’s high time to be celebrating that fact.

  3. Life is good isn’t it, delighted you’re getting on well with the Core Fusion dvds, so can’t wait to try them out when they arrive. Jamaica, what can I say, you guys will have the best holiday!

  4. Er, where do I get a husband like yours!? He is awesome!! And HOLIDAY! 🙂

    We’re all allowed to whine it out sometimes. Man, I didn’t even read your post last night like that at all. I guess I was whining it out too, eh.. But glad you’re feeling a little groovier today 🙂

  5. Ahhh….yes!!! You deserve those small victories – AND the vacation, which you are going to have an absolutely amazing time on, no doubt!

    P.S. Is your husband for real??!! That is just about the sweetest thing to do “just because”!

    • This will be our first time there…unless you count the one night we got stuck there in a Holiday Inn en route to our honeymoon to St. Lucia. That was NOT my best first impression of Jamaica…this time will be MUCH better I’m sure of it. We’re going to the Dunn’s River area in Montego Bay.

  6. yay for the core fusion progress! gold star for your hubby – seriously, little things like that fully makes someones day! so jealous you are going to jamaica…and hope you get to run in fresh air this weekend! 🙂

  7. I need to find a man who will get me starbucks even when I don’t ask, that is love!

    And Jamaica?? FUN! When are you going and what part? I went to Negril and it was gorgeous–such a great time with some beautiful beaches 🙂

  8. What your husband did is so romantic and thoughtful. I think it’s the small things like these that I like the most in a relationship. Like when my boyfriend goes out to get a paper and comes back with a surprise Milkybar 🙂

  9. Pingback: Core Fusion Challenge week #2, walking tall(er) « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

