Body+weight

Body weight.

Another one of those phrases that brings with it such connotation.

Can bring with it a negative context if in relation to managing your weight (much of that connotation brought on by societal pressures, sadly).

But it can also bring with it a positive connotation if you put it into a different context.

With a different mindset, if you will.

It’s something that struck me today while doing the first of my Core Fusion workouts for this week, week #4 of the Core Fusion Challenge. Body weight can be the best tool in your fitness “toolbox” if you let it. If you embrace it.

I’ve admitted on this blog that one of the big problems I knew I’d face going into the Core Fusion Challenge was my mindset. As it relates to weight lifting, my mindset has always been that body weight-based workouts just don’t compare to heavier weight lifting styles like my favorite STS. I admitted that I was afraid that going to Core Fusion as my sole form of “weight” workouts during the week, mixed with cardio, would cause me to lose strength somehow. I think I was afraid that after a really strong round of STS where I definitely saw strength gains, that I’d take a step or two back by embarking on this challenge.

Well,  during tonight’s workout, it struck me. If you put your body weight into context, it can be your best tool for strength training. You just have to embrace it – use that body weight to propel you out of plank pose and into warrior pose. It was during this pose tonight during Core Fusion Yoga Energy Flow that the whole body weight/context concept sprang to mind. I am feeling so very strong this month, in quite a different way than I’ve ever felt, and I have my own body weight to thank for it.

The body weight that can drive me nuts at times (hello “fat days”). The numbers game we’ve all been prone to playing. When, in reality, we should be embracing that body weight as our armor, something we can always turn to, to strengthen, to protect, to carry us forward.

A major mindset shift for me. One of many I’ve noticed this past month. Mindset shifts I wasn’t quite so sure I’d ever see. I’m constantly amazed by how something as simple as a workout can change your mind about something you’d always felt pretty strongly about.

Who knew?

**********

So yes, friends, I’m most definitely in it to win it as we head into the fourth week of the Core Fusion Challenge. My plans for this week? It is as follows:

Sunday – rest (much needed after a fanfrickintastic night in Boston with my sis, M and Scott)

Monday – speedy rounds on the treadmill this morning; Core Fusion Yoga Energy Flow tonight

Tuesday – Core Fusion Pilates Plus or Core Fusion Boot Camp

Wednesday – Ride (I WILL get there this week…again, it didn’t happen last week but I swear it shall be done, commute or no commute!); Core Fusion Body Sculpt

Thursday – Core Fusion Pilates Plus or Core Fusion Boot Camp (whatever I didn’t do on Tuesday); MAYBE Kick at night if my commute is lighter as I hope it’ll be thanks to school vaca week…

Friday – Core Fusion Lean & Toned

Saturday – run, outside, maybe??

As you all know, the best laid plans…we’ll see how the week goes, but this is my optimistic plan for the week. Wish me luck. 😉

18 thoughts on “Body+weight

  1. That’s a great sentiment sis. And so true. While I am adding in a weight workout or two into this week’s training, I too noticed that body weight is well, REALLY hard to hold up during leg lifts, tricep dips etc. It’s all in the mind, 90%, I swear. Great lineup for the week! Mine looks pretty similar I think 🙂

    • LOL I know, right?? Pushups are my nemesis and I’m DETERMINED to conquer them…I’ve been doing extra push-up work aside from core fusion work and it’s totally helping! It’s the little things, right?? I don’t know why, but being able to do a set of strong “real” push-ups is totally badass in my book.

  2. body weight exercises are so amazing! If you do them with max effort, they really work. You need to film this girl. I would love to see these exercises. Keep up the awesome workouts!
    🙂

  3. Most of the strength training I do uses my own body weight. Our bodies are stronger and more efficient than we give them credit for. You continue to motivate me! Keep up the great work!

  4. You’re so right. I’ve found that body wieght strength gains result in more “functional” strength to perform day to day activities as well as balance gains. I’m with you on the real pushups. I’m so proud of myself when I can do real pushups during CF Boot Camp or Yoga Flow, which I can now that I’ve been doing the CF workouts regularly for a few months. CF has definitely made me stronger. I’m so jazzed to hear about your progress as you continue your challenge. Keep it up!

    • YES! That’s it exactly – the functional strength you gain, and balance. The whole functional thing is one of the reasons I started running, for example. To be able to do something good for my body that also had a “function” to it – as in, getting me from a to b with my own two feet! This is simliar – especially the balance piece. Totally.

    • Yes. Body weight work like planks and push-ups. Seem so “easy” in concept but in reality, can be one of the toughest moves to master. Moves I’m determined to master, that is. 😉

  5. So true! It’s amazing how HARD body weight exercises can be. I will never forget reading something Usher said when asked how he got so ripped (helllo six pack abs) – he said he never, NEVER works with weights – all he does is with his own body weight! It really shocked me at first but after doing 10 “real” push-ups, I totally know what he means. 🙂

  6. You are so right about using your body weight for strength training. It can be done and many times can be more effective than traditional weights. And look at you…talking about warrior pose! ❤ yoga! 🙂

  7. I LOVE this post! The image of moving from the plank into the warrior pose captures the idea perfectly. The fact that bodyweight, and control are what get you there; the grace it implies, versus the brute strength of weightlifting. It’s a great way of appreciating your body.

    And good luck!

    • Ohh I love how you describe the grace of the move vs. the brute force of a weight workout. What visual imagery – I can tell you’ve been doing a lot of thesis writing my friend!

  8. Pingback: Facing “fear,” boot camp-style « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

Leave a Reply

