Workouts as “detoxifying”

“Detoxifying”

This is a word I hear a lot from Fred DeVito during some of the Core Fusion workouts I”ve been doing at home. Usually it’s in reference to a hip opening move or spinal stretch or other stretching techniques.

But when I really paused to think about it, I totally view an entire workout as a detoxifying process.

Not just physically (though that’s a huge part of it) but also mentally.

And I think that’s a big reason I return to my workouts faithfully each and every day (‘cept for that rest day, of course).

It detoxifies me.

Centers me.

Makes me feel alive.  Energized.

Toxin-free.

Finally! I have an answer to the question I get all the time: “how do you stay so committed to your workouts?”

Working out is detoxifying.

At least it is for me.

This as I sit here working from home today and noticing that I’m increasingly feeling the effects of Kick last night followed by Core Fusion Body Sculpt this morning. Can you say DOMS city?? Ahhh, just how I like it. Nice and warm and toasty up in my back, my shoulders, my core, my glutes (ok, my ass).

Not a bad way to kick off the weekend if you ask me. Yes, pun intended. Because that’s this workout nerd rolls. Take me or leave me. 😉 

 

20 thoughts on “Workouts as “detoxifying”

  1. Oh my God, I totally feel you on this. I’ve been thinking about this recently — is getting a good sweat on really detoxifying? Because it certainly feels like it! But then I realised that there’s a bit psychological aspect as well: the stress relief, the way it can centre you, and rid you of black thoughts. Yes!

    And you know, I’m going to try something akin to a yoga / pilates stretching routine this afternoon. I’ll let you know how I go on 😉

  2. there is nothing that rejuvenates the soul like a good workout and sweat session. I love how you extend it to a detox feeling!

  3. So glad Core Fusion is detoxing and it helps with centering. I think I’ll get into doing them soon. I need to detox myself from diet coke, I drink way too much of it, if I never had chocolate, ice cream or candy again, I wouldn’t be sad but find it tricky to give up the diet coke.

  4. I am glad you are enjoying your Core Fusion challenge. It sounds really cool! I also agree with your perception that workouts are detoxifying, not only for the body, but also for the mind as well. Can’t wait to hear more about the challenge!

    • It totally has been SUCH an experience for me (and my sis) and I’m so glad I committed to it as fully as I did. Core Fusion has been especially detoxifying for me…especially mentally.

  5. Pingback: Core Fusion, live with Fred DeVito « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  6. Pingback: Learning to let it go « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  7. Pingback: Guest Post: Diary of a Spin Class « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  8. Pingback: Overheard at Core Fusion… « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  9. Pingback: What I worked Wednesday (and Mon, and Tues, and…) « EatDrinkBreatheSweat

  10. Pingback: guest post from EatDrinkBreatheSweat: why I work, what I work | poise in parma

Leave a Reply

