Well, that happened…

It was bound to happen sooner or later.

I had a really, really bad run today. So bad that I barely made it 3 miles.

This after kicking my dreadmill hatred after discovering a love for intervals.

This after finally getting to run outside this winter and loving every chilly second of it.

This after letting go of the garmin and the numbers and just running to run.

This after just telling you how much a workout is mental vs. physical and I proved that the opposite can be true sometimes too, today is a perfect example of that.

Today, my body failed me, not my mind.

And as I ran along realizing that this was turning into one of those “bad run” days, I started to tick off all the reasons why this was a bad run from the start. Had I sat back and thought about this beforehand, I might not have attempted to run at all. But then, I never would have learned the “why’s” behind today’s poor run and I also wouldn’t have gotten the bad run “out of the way” so to speak. 😉

So without further ado, here’s why and how today’s run was doomed from the start:

  • Mentally, I felt great. I was with Scott, we were chatting along, everything felt great, no mind games, nada.
  • Soon, shin splints which I have not suffered for months settled in. Then, a side cramp. What?? A side cramp?! Haven’t had one of those in eons.
  • Then, my legs started to feel like lead. Hello, trying out the new Kick Spring ’11 release which was described from the start as “leg intense” yesterday was probably not my smartest move.
  • And then it hit me, my last rest day was almost a week ago. There have been lots of workouts in between: Ride, Core Fusion class, Kick class, Core Fusion Yoga Energy Flow, Ride and Kick (at home).
  • My body was (and is) just tired. And it screamed at me for it.

This is the most frustrating part for me. I WANTED to run, and run long and just clear my head before this week’s trip to Austin for SXSW. I wanted to enjoy the last day with Scott before saying good-bye to him for a few days (something I HATE to do) with that run. It’s a big-time bonding thing for us. Mentally, I was prepared for it. Physically, I was not. And I was too darn stubborn to see it.

But here’s the thing. The “old me” would be sitting here feeling guilty for having such a poor run and would be beating myself up for it. Especially considering it’s going to be a tricky workout week for me with travel thrown in the mix. Instead, I’m writing this post both as a reminder to myself that “life happens” and as a reminder to you to listen to your body, even when your brain is trying to convince you otherwise. And yes, sometimes your body does fail you.

And that’s ok – tomorrow is a new day.

*****************

Speaking of tomorrow, wish me luck as I head on out to Austin at the crack of dawn . A week that will be chaos-filled I’m sure, but will include lots of good “uncomfortable” experiences for me (this *is* why I took this job, right??), and will almost certainly include a potential 2-day rest week this week. Another thing that would’ve thrown me into a tailspin a few months ago, but something I’m taking in stride this time (as best as I can, anyway).

Of course, one of the main highlights of my week will be meeting Lindsay so make sure to come back to see a post from me on our meet-up. 🙂

22 thoughts on “Well, that happened…

    • Seriously. I was so annoyed that my body was screaming “NO!” but my mind was like go, go, go! Hey I guess if I really think about it, at least my mental stamina is there, right?? Ha

  1. we all have those days, but that’s what make the great runs even better! and you definitely have the right attitude! hopefully you can pack your running shoes and squeeze in a run in austin? nothing like running in a new town!

    • It was an awesome run here in Austin, I must say – the company was pretty fab but the route/weather were awesome too! Made up for this run fail earlier in the week, that’s for sure!

  2. Too true about “life happens”. I know what it’s like when I can’t get going when I do a workout. For me the week before my period, I’m a disaster workout wise and just can’t get the strength to do a workout, I can do it but can’t lift heavy or do as much as usual.

    Safe trip to Texas, wow I’m thinking of you in the airport surrounded by all those American magazines. Love American airports even if I get delayed, I could spend hours looking at all the magazines that we don’t get here (I’m such a nerd).

  3. “Had I sat back and thought about this beforehand, I might not have attempted to run at all.”

    It’s funny how we know these things somewhere deep down, but don’t let them come to the surface. Because when we really WANT to workout (and I can totally understand why you wanted to run with Scott before hitting the road), we just don’t want to hear it from our body. Tired? Aching legs? Sorry buddy, don’t wanna know!

    But that’s hubris for ya. It always comes back to bite us, usually in the form of some lower limb injury or abdominal problem — and you got both! 😦 The fact that you can turn this into a positive is admirable though. You took it as a shot across the bows, and a reminder about how to manage particularly intense periods. Now *that’s* mental strength 🙂

    Have a good trip!

  4. we live and learn. and the one important thing is, that you changed your behaviour and checked the “why” behind your bad run. so don’t worry about it. you made a great step ahead mentally. and i’m always impressed by your ability for self reflection…
    enjoy all the experiences this week will bring. sounds freaking exciting! and when you feel bad, remember: in about a year’s time you will laugh about it 😉
    *hugs* julia

  5. Sorry you had a not-so-great run. They are never fun, but they always teach us valuable lessons about our mind and body. It sounds like heard those messages, which many people ignore, so props to you for listening! Enjoy your trip!

  6. Ugh – sorry girl. It happens unfortunately but it sucks most when you’re just itching for a superb run and expect it. Definitely sounds like a rest day was needed for those legs. But, at least you did get to spend some time with Scott, outside. Even if the run wasn’t stellar.

  7. Is it bad that I was a little happy that you finally had a bad run?? I know that sounds so terrible 😉 But considering that’s how most of mine have been lately, I’m glad you are human! But I am also glad you recognized it and listened to your body.

    • No, it’s not bad, I’m glad you said that actually. I kind of thought you would think that way when I admitted to you how badly the run was. Especially since it was not even mental this time (something I’ve been telling you has been your problem since you lost your running mojo!), which was somehow even more frustrating.

  8. I agree 100% with what Tina said…like right now, my foot feels okay when I walk and even jog, so it’s SO hard to hold back and not go balls to the wall!

    But I think we have those bad days (or bad months due to injuries) so we can appreciate the good ones. At least, that’s what I tell myself to feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

